Skip to main content
provides voting records for representatives and senators, information about presidential candidates, directories of state legislator, campaign finance information, and reference documents such as such as the Constitution, the U.S. Government Manual, and How Our Laws are Made
Cook Partisan Voter Index (PVI)
The Cook PVI measures how each district performs at the presidential level compared to the nation as a whole.
Elections Data & Statistics
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
United States election voting reference works with downloadable elections data. Covers the American voter, to major and minor political parties, actual races for Congress, the Presidency, and governorships. Election data can be downloaded in csv or tsv and earliest date of coverage varies by office: President (national summary: 1789; county detail: 1920); Senate (national summary: 1908; county detail: 1968); Governor (national summary: 1824; county detail: 1967); House (national summary: 1824; district detail: 1968). More details in the CQ Libguide
General Election Results by County: US Representative General - County & Congressional District Level Vote Data (Dave Leip's Election Atlas data)
House election data in Excel from 1992 to present, broken down by Congressional District and County.
- Candidates - candidate names and party ballot listing per state
- Vote Data by State - summarizes vote totals by state for each candidate - with boundary file information (fips)
- Vote Data by County - vote data for all counties of all states plus DC - with boundary file information (fips)
- Vote Data by Town - vote data for New England towns (ME, MA, CT, RI, VT, NH) - with boundary file information (fips)
- Graphs - pie charts for each state and national total.
- Party - data sorted by strength at the state level for the major parties.
- Statistics - page of statistics includes closest states, max, min, counties, etc.
- Data Sources - a list of data sources used to compile the spreadsheet.
A New Nation Votes
a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy, 1787-1825.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
contains its research activities on elections, statistical data from NES survey from 1952 to the present, and searchable lists and abstracts for NES various election studies.
The Center for Responsive Politics provides information on campaign funds raised and spent by presidential and congressional candidates, lists of donations by state, economic sector, industry and interest, and top contributions.
Federal Election Commission
offers information on federal elections including voter registration and turnout, elections results, presidential and congressional campaign financing, campaign finance law.
FEC - Law & Regulations
Federal Election Commission site provides various legal documents on campaign finance law.
CQ Voting & Elections Collection