Skip to main content
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
These books are available online, and accessible from anywhere with the proxy server enabled.
Searchable database of 3000+ science and engineering reference works. Includes many property and data tables.
A collection (35 currently) of online reference works about Machine Design. Fully accessible and searchable online.
The following databases allow you to search academic research articles in select fields.
Basics of Machine Design
Hundreds of articles from MachineDesign.com about the basics of designing machine parts. Freely available on the web.
Compendex is the largest research database in the physical sciences and engineering, focusing on mechanical, aeorspace, civil and structural engineering topics.
Inspec is another large database of research articles in engineering, focusing on computer, electrical and process engineering, as well as covering other physical science topics.
Pubmed is the premiere database for medical research. A good place to find research articles in all medical and biomedical engineering fields.
In the UCSD catalog (Roger) are books (print and electronic), journals we subscribe to, and audio/visual
materials. If UCSD doesn't own something you are looking for, you can
get it for free (usually in only a few days) through The Circuit (SDSU, USD, CSUSM, SDPL joint catalog), Melvyl (all UC schools joint catalog) or interlibrary loan. Interlibrary Loan is a free service that will send away for books from any library in the country.
Guide to UCSD ME Info
This page lists most everything that UCSD has to offer for MAE students electronically, sorted by type of information.