Skip to main content
World War I
This archive brings together material contributed by the public, national library collections, and film archives to offer a unique perspective of the First World War, showing it from every side of the battle lines and with insights from every point of view.
A collection of primary documents that mark the course of the war. Included are archive documents signed in the late 1830s which bore relevance to the outbreak of war some 75 years later, as well as memos, letters, treaties and the text of speeches throughout the war and beyond.
League of Nations: Statistical and Disarmament Documents
This collection contains the full text of 260 League of Nations document, with a focus on three areas: the founding of the League, international statistics published by the League, and the League's work toward international disarmament.
League of Nations Photo Archive
The League of Nations was established after WWI to promote international co-operation and to achieve international peace and security. This collection includes photos of individuals and groups associated with the League.
Propaganda Postcards of the Great War
The site features a collection of war-themed postal cards produced during World War 1 (1914-1919).
The Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I*
The newspaper's mission was to provide scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort. Date coverage is February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
War Posters and Postcards
Posters from government, commercial and charitable organizations. Subject matter is diverse, covering such topics as military recruitment, rationing, films/theatre, anti-war movements and many others.
Western European Theater Political Pamphlet Collection
Pamphlets collected by the Princeton University Library starting from the outbreak of World War I. The collection contains pamphlets published in Europe during and immediately after World War I. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, territorial disputes, and others. The collection also includes speeches, sermons, bulletins, calendars, and songbooks. Covers 1894-1918.
World War History: Newspaper Clippings, 1914 to 1926
Newspaper clippings from the 400-volume, World War History: Daily Records and Comments as Appeared in American and Foreign Newspapers, 1914-1926. "The clippings yield significant information about the political, social, cultural, and economic impact of the war as it is taking place and its aftermath....and contain war-related editorials, features, cartoons, photos, maps, and more."
World War I Collection
"Provides a sampling of UW-Madison's World War I Special Collection...Most of these materials were acquired by the University during or in the immediate aftermath of the war and they represent a direct and often very passionate or partisan viewpoint of that conflict."
World War I Document Archive*
Contains full text, images, biographies, personal reminiscences and links to other web resources.
World War I Postcards from the Bowman Gray Collection
Features a collection of war-themed cards produced in Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Russia, and the U.S. during World War One (1914-1918).
Use this box to search the web for primary sources. Only collections marked with an asterisk (*) in this guide will be searched.