Skip to main content

USP 166: History of San Diego: Selected Digitized Resources

Digitized materials from UCSD Special Collections

Digitized materials in Special Collections

Selected San Diego History Primary Sources - Digitized by Special Collections & Archives, UC San Diego Library

 

Author    Sniffen, George F, Notes by the camp fire : being a narrative of an overland journey from the United States to California in the year 1849

Description         1 v. (68 leaves)

Summary             Holograph account of the Havilah Mining Association's overland journey from Fort Smith, Ark. to the gold regions of California. The association was composed of 34 men, of whom George F. Sniffen wrote the journal. The journal begins in March 1849 with the company making preparations for its journey and concludes in early January 1850 with Sniffen and a friend gaining passage on a ship in San Francisco to return to the eastern United States

Special Collections Good  F865 .S72 1849 VLT   

 

2.       Author    San Diego Chamber of Commerce

Title San Diego and Southern California : the climate, resources and future prospects

Published      [San Diego, Calif. : s.n., 1870?] ([San Diego, Calif.] : San Diego Bulletin Print)

Special Collections Rare F868.S15 S26 1870     

 

 

3.    Author                  San Diego Chamber of Commerce

Title               Cheap lands in California and how to use them / issued by the Chamber of Commerce of San Diego County         Published            San Diego : San Diego Chamber of Commerce, 1889 (San Diego : California Printing Company)

Rare  F868.S15 S263 1889 VLT  

 

 

4.    Title       Semi-Tropic California. San Diego County, health, profit or pleasure

Published    [San Francisco, Calif.? : Pacific Coast Land Bureau], 1891

Special Collections Rare  F868.S15 S43 1891 

 

 

5.    Title       Views of San Diego and Pacific Beach

Published    San Diego : Press of Frye & Smith, [1907?]

Special Collections Rare F869.P13 V54 1904  

 

 

6.    Title       Palomar mountain, camp site & club house

Published            [San Diego, Calif. : s.n., 1925?]

Special Collections Rare Fol  F868.S15 P32 1925   

 

7.        Title       Rancho Santa Fe, California : yesterday--today

Published            [S.l. : s.n., 1923?] (Chula Vista, Calif. : Denrich Press)

Special Collections Rare F868.S15 R35 1923  

 

 

8.      Title       Coronado Tent City, Coronado Beach, California

Published            [Coronado, Calif.? : Coronado Beach Co., 1902?]

Special Collections Good  F869.C67 C685 1902 

 

 

9.    Title       Hotel del Coronado, Coronado Beach : its social activities and entertainment features

Published            San Diego : Frye & Smith, [192-?]

 Special Collections Rare  F869.C67 H673 1920z  

 

10.     Title    Under canvas at Coronado Tent City : a review of the tent life and a short account of the many attractions in and about this unique resort

Published            Coronado Beach, Calif. : Coronado Beach Company, 1904

 Special Collections Good  F869.C67 U63 1904 

 

11.  Author  Thurston, Albert G

Title               Facts about the Imperial Valley : answering questions most frequently asked

Published    El Centro [Calif.] : Imperial Valley Chamber of Commerce, [between 1914 and 1929?]

Special Collections Good Fol  F868.I2 T49 1914  

 

 

12.  Title      Twentieth century Redlands : the city of homes, fruits and flowers

Published    [Redlands, Calif.? : s.n., 1906? (Redlands] : Citrograph) Edition    8. ed

  Special Collections Rare Fol  F869.R3 T49 1906  

40.                  Author  Sinclair, Upton, 1878-1968

Title               EPIC answers : how to end poverty in California / by Upton Sinclair

Published            Los Angeles, Calif. : End Poverty League, [1934?]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/epicanswers/

SPEC Rare  HC107.C2 S52 1934b   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b2553237~S9

 

California-Panama Exposition

13.  Title:          What visitors say of the California exposition Southern Pacific, the exposition line

Published            [San Francisco?] : Southern Pacific, [1915]

 

Link to online version:  http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/t872_b2-w43-1915/

 SPEC Rare  T872.B2 W43 1915   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b6295167~S9

 

14.  Author  Panama-California Exposition (1915 : San Diego, Calif.)

Title               Official views, Panama-California Exposition, San Diego, California : all the year, 1915

Published    San Diego, Cal. : National Views Company ... official publishers of the Panama-California Exposition, [1915?]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/t872_a1-a3-1915c/

SPEC Good  T872.A1 A3 1915c   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3308431~S9

 

15.  Title       Panama-California exposition news

Published    San Diego : Publicity Dept. of the Panama-California Exposition, 1911-

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/t872_b1-p37-v_1-no_1/

SPEC Good Fol  T872.B1 P37  Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3322845~S9

 

16.  Title       The San Diego Exposition : 1915, all the year : Panama-California Exposition

Published    [San Diego, Calif.?] : Panama-California Exposition, c1912

Folding pamphlet advertising the Panama-California Exposition, geared toward potential exhibitors

                Illustrations: Drawing of entrance to grounds, photo of president D.C. Collier, architectural map of exhibition site

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/t872_d9-s36-1912/

 SPEC Rare Fol  T872.D9 S36 1912    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b5393284~S9

 

17.          Title       Panama Extravaganza / R.M. Johnson, manager ; compiled and edited by Earl W. Hill and Harry G. Seber                    Published            East San Diego [Calif.] : Moyer Printing Co., c [1916]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/tc774_p36-1916/

SPEC Rare  TC774 .P36 1916   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3594542~S9

 

Maps and Plans

18.          Title       Ranchos of San Diego County : with historic routes and points of interest / compiled from the records of Union Title Insurance and Trust Company

Published            San Diego, Calif. : Union Title Insurance and Trust Company, c1947

Other Author     Union Title Insurance and Trust Company

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/g4363_s24-s1-r36-1947/

SPEC Rare FF  G4363.S24S1 R36 1947  Link to Roger record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b5391066~S9

               

19.          Author  San Diego Land & Town Company

Title       Map of Chula Vista, San Diego County, Cal. : being a subdivision of part of National Rancho

Published            [San Diego, California : San Diego Land and Town Co., [1890?]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/g4364_c5-1890_m37/

SPEC Rare Fol  G4364.C5 1890 .M37    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3507343~S9

 

20.          Author  United States. Bureau of Yards and Docks

Title       Camp Calvin B. Matthews, San Diego, California, Master Shore Station development plan. Part II, section 2, General development plan / Dept. of the Navy, Bureau of Yards and Docks

Published            San Diego, Calif. : The Bureau, [1957]

 

Link to online version:  http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/g4364_s2-r282-1957_u65/

 SPEC Rare MC G4364.S2R282 1957 U65

Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b4152498~S9

 

Documents

26.           Title      Report on the derivation and definition of the names of the several counties of California / by Mr. Vallejo ; [translated from the original by Joseph H. Scull]

Published            [San Jose] : H. H. Robinson, State printer, [1850]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f859_c36-1850/

SPEC Rare  F859 .C36 1850    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b2516032~S9

 

27.            Title       Articles of agreement, July 28, 1849

Description         1 sheet ; 32 cm.

Summary             Annotated labor contract between Jacob P. Leese of Monterey, Calif. and Ahine Chinaman. The agreement concerns the latter's pledge to deliver himself from Hong Kong into Leese's service in San Francisco where he will work as a coolie or in some other capacity

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f865_a78-1849/

SPEC Good   F865 .A78 1849 VLT    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3499083~S9

 

28.          Title       California-Mexico land and cattle company

Published            Los Angeles, Calif. : [s.n., 190-?]

Description         1 sheet : ill. ; 18 x 28 cm

Note(s)                "Capital Stock $2,000,000 ... Incorporated August 27th, 1902, shares $100 each."

                Stock certificate illustrated with drawing of a cowboy lassoing a cow

                UCSD has certificate no. 43, dated 3 Jan. 1908, issued to O.J. Brant for 900 shares, and signed by Harry Chandler as president and D. Anderson as secretary

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/hg5170_b3-c35-1900z/

SPEC Rare  HG5170.B3 C35 1900z  Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b4802811~S9

 

 

Water and Railroads

29. Title                The Boulder Dam, All-American Canal Project : facts / issued by Imperial Irrigation District                             Published            [El Centro, Calif.] : The District, 1924

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/tc557_5_h6-b68-1924/

SPEC Rare  TC557.5.H6 B68 1924   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3384737~S9

 

30.          Author  Freeman, John Ripley

Title       The Freeman report       Published            [San Diego, Calif. : The City, 1924

Note(s)                Library's copy lacks p. 9-16; housed in four mylar envelopes

                UCSD's copy formerly owned by Cuyamaca Water Company

Contents             Summary of recommendations regarding future extensions of water supply for the city of San Diego, California : abstracted from report of about 250 typewritten pages / by John R. Freeman ... May 16, 1924 -- Report on additional water supply for the city of San Diego / by John R. Freeman ... May 22, 1924 (incomplete)

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/td225_s23-f74-1924/

SPEC Rare MC  TD225.S23 F74 1924   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b4248140~S9

 

31.          Title       The road to wealth

Published            [S.l. : The Company, 1909] (Chicago : Corbitt Railway Printing Co.)

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f1261_r63-1909/

  SPEC Rare  F1261 .R63 1909     Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3616732~S9

 

32.          Title       Monrovia, Sierra Madre and Azusa, among the orange groves in San Gabriel, the Valley of our Lady, invites your attention to their many advantages and scenic and residential attractions : the heart of Southern California

Published            Los Angeles, Cal. : Passenger Dept., Pacific Electric Railway, D.A. Munger, G.P.A., [1911?]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f868_l8-m66-1911/

SPEC Rare  F868.L8 M66 1911    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3492770~S9

 

33.          Title       Railroad mass meeting / by the people's railroad committee

Published            [San Diego] : The People's Railroad Committee, [1904?]

Summary             Broadside announcement for a meeting to discuss plans to build a railroad from San Diego to El Centro and Yuma. Since the 1860s San Diego had hoped to become the western terminus for a transcontinental railroad. Efforts floundered including the present "People's Railroad" plan which sought a direct route east for the agricultural products of Imperial Valley. Conflicts existed among competing interests which included Imperial Valley residents, San Diego business people and the Southern Pacific. By 1906 John Spreckels provided leadership and financing to build the San Diego & Arizona Railway, completed in 1919

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f869_s22-r35-1904z/

 SPEC Rare MC  F869.S22 R35 1904z    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b5127776~S9

 

34.          Title       Old Mexico and return in a day! : through orange and lemon groves reached only by the National City and Otay R'y : the popular 60-mile excursion over the lemon line to Old Mexico, crossing the border line via Tia Juana, and, on the return, visit the famous Sweetwater Dam

Published            [San Diego, Calif. : National City & Otay Railway, between 1888 and 1899] (San Diego, Cal. : Frandzen, Bumgardner & Co.)

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f868_s15-o53-1888/

SPEC Good MC  F868.S15 O53 1888    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3339800~S9

 

35.          Author  Huntington, Collis Potter, 1821-1900

Title       How congressmen are bribed : the Colton letters : declaration of Huntington that congressmen are for sale                 Published            [S.l. : s.n., 189-?]

Caption title: The Colton letters : the inside history of an infamous procedure ..

                Extracts from letters of C.P. Huntington to David D. Colton, with an introduction by the anonymous extractor

                The Huntington-Colton letters were first made public at a trial in 1883, with subsequent publication in the New York Sun Dec. 29-30, 1883. Cf. DAB, v. 5, p. 410-411

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/jk1121_h86-1890z/index.html

SPEC Good  JK1121 .H86 1890z   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3311682~S9

 

UCSD – related and La Jolla

36.          Title       UCSD strike daily

Published            [La Jolla, Calif. : University of California, San Diego],

Library Owns      1-4 (1969-1969)

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/ld781_s2-a397/

SPEC Annex  LD781.S2 A397  Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b2703067~S9

 

37.          Title       Lumumba-Zapata College : B.S.C.-M.A.Y.A. demands for the Third College, U.C.S.D                          Published            [San Diego, Calif. : s.n., 1969]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/ld781_s2-l86-1969/

SPEC Rare  LD781.S2 L86 1969   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b4814455~S9

 

38.          Title       La Jolla Cove [graphic]

Published            [San Diego, CA : S.n., ca.1897.]

Description         1 photograph : b&w ; 10 x 20 cm

Summary             Photograph of La Jolla Cove and houses above, taken from rock formation known as Alligator Head. Photograph mounted on board, 20 x 25 cm

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f869l2l336_1897

  SPEC Rare  F869.L2 L336 1897    Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b5015039~S9

 

39.          Title      La Jolla, California

Published            [S.l. : s.n., between 1920 and 1939?] (L.A. [Los Angeles, Calif.] : California Rotogravure)

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f869_l2-l3-1920z

SPEC Rare  F869.L2 L3 1920z   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3382681~S9

 

Tijuana and Baja

21.          Author  Thomas, Edward C

Title       The wanderer in Tijuana : gambling, liquor, ponies, girls, high life 'n everything / by Edward C. Thomas, Wanderer

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f1391_t36-t53-1922/

SPEC Rare  F1391.T36 T53 1922   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b2917657~S9

 

22.          Title       Welcome Tijuana Typical Mexican fair, Tijuana, Old Mexico : open from July 1st to December 31st 1915       Published            San Diego : Elite Printing Co., [1915]

Description         1 folded sheet ([4] p.) : ill. ; 24 x 21 cm. (folded to 24 x 11 cm.)

Note(s)                "Advertises a Mexican excursion from San Diego to Tijuana in 1915, including a 'Typical Mexican Fair' and 'Famous Old World Entertainers.' Bull fights, cock fights, Spanish dances and Mexican wild west shows are among the attractions."--Antiquarian bookseller's blurb

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f1391_t36-w45-1915/

SPEC Rare  F1391.T36 W45 1915  Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b5393351~S9

 

23.          Title       Report of trip made by C.B. Salisbury and J.E. McLean of the Automobile Club of Southern California from Los Angeles into Lower California for the purpose of ascertaining road conditions as well as outing and hunting possibilities, and to take the necessary notes and data with which to compile a general map, particularly of the west coast portion

Published            Los Angeles : Automobile Club of Southern California, [1925?]

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/gv1025_m4-r47-1925/

 SPEC Rare  GV1025.M4 R47 1925  Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b4346492~S9

 

24.          Title       Estado que manifiesta el que tenian las misiones de la antigua California, 1776 Feb. 25

Summary             Holograph statistical report of the human and livestock population, acreage, and agricultural output at 14 Baja California missions at the end of June 1775 while under Dominican curatorship. Signed by Melchor de Peramás

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f1246_e87-1776

  SPEC Rare  F1246 .E87 1776   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3401433~S9

 

25.          Author  Salvatierra, Juan María de, 1648-1717

Title       Autograph letter : Loreta Mission, Calif., to Father Juan de Ugarte, 1698 April 17

 

Link to online version: http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/f1246_s16-1698/

  SPEC Rare F1246 .S16 1698 VLT   Link to Roger  record: http://roger.ucsd.edu/record=b3697471~S9

 

Camp Matthews Aerial Photographs:

Connect to http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/DigitalArchives/mss0495/

 

Subject Guide

Heather Smedberg's picture
Heather Smedberg
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives

Geisel Library Building
858-246-0351
http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/Tumblr:
Website / Blog Page

Selected resources in San Diego History