Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Studies & Planning: Articles

Recommended resources for doing research in urban studies and planning

Journal Articles as Research Resources

Journal articles are especially good for finding current research on a topic. Articles which are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" are written by scholars and professionals in the field. Many of the Library's databases will let you limit your search to these types of publications.

Be sure to look at the bibliography of any article that seems particularly relevant, because it can lead you to other useful resources.

The databases below will likely include articles relevant to your research. You may also wish to browse the Library's subject guides to identify other useful databases in a variety of disciplines.

How do I get an article?

In many databases, you will see a "PDF full text" or "HTML full text" link next to a citation. If so, clicking on the link will bring up the full text of the article.

If you don't see one of those links, you should see abutton next to each citation. If we have access to the article from another source, the link will take you to UC Library Search to show you options for getting full text.

Ulrichsweb: Find Information about Journals

Ulrichsweb is a great resource for finding information about journals. It provides data points such as publisher, language, subject, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

You can also easily learn if a title is peer-reviewed, and Ulrichs will even tell you which databases (such as those listed at right) index the journal. 

The "advanced search" allows several ways to focus your search for journal titles of interest, and then it's just a matter of clicking on titles in the results list to get the full information.

A Peer-reviewed symbol next to the title indicates that the journal is peer-reviewed.

Dissertations

Dissertations are available through the ProQuest database Dissertations & Theses.

University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Dissertations and theses from other universities may be requested through ILL

Top Journal Article Databases for USP

Urban Studies is an interdisciplinary subject, which means you will find relevant articles in databases covering a variety of subject areas. Some of the databases below are specifically related to the field of Urban Studies & Planning, while others are very general and multidisciplinary. If you can't find articles on your topic using the databases below, you can also try browsing Subjects A-Z to find other subject guides and the recommended databases for those disciplines.