General Statistical Sources
-
Data and Statistics LibGuideUCSD guide to commonly requested statistics and datasets. Includes an urban planning and housing section on the "By Topic" tab.
-
City Health DashboardOffers community-level health, social, and economic data for the nation’s 500 largest cities. Reports on 36 key measures of health and conditions that influence health, such as housing affordability and income inequality.
-
Data-PlanetProvides easy access to statistical data. Sources include: Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, International Monetary Fund, National Bureau of Economic Research, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, World Bank, World Resource Institute, many US Federal agencies, and others.
-
ProQuest Statistical Insight1973-present. Abstracts and indexes statistical publications of U.S. federal and state governments, nonprofit and educational institutions, international agencies and private publishers.
-
RAND State StatisticsContains nearly 80 databases in the following categories: Business and economics; Community; Education; Energy and environment; Government finance; Health and socioeconomic; and Population and demographics.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States, ProQuest (2013- )Statistical compendium of the U.S. Government; the best place to start looking for statistics related to the United States. Older editions are available online via the Census Bureau, and print copies for most years back to 1878 are available in the Library.
-
UCLA Anderson ForecastForecasts U.S. and California economies, and strives to be unbiased in its approach. Online back to 2011, and in print back to 1997. Includes Allen Matkins’ California Commercial Real Estate Survey (San Diego and other large CA metro areas); City Human Capital Index (Los Angeles, Bay Area and CA zip codes); and Los Angeles City Monthly Employment Estimate.
-
U.S. Government LibGuide: StatisticsUCSD guide to federal statistics resources.
The U.S. Census
The Census is the most comprehensive demographic survey in the United States. Although the questions asked change from year to year, there are always variables related to age, race and ethnicity, languages spoken, education, ancestry, income, home ownership versus renting, and more.
-
American FactFinderThe U.S. Census Bureau's online tool for extracting statistical tables and data. It includes data from the 2010 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census.
-
Social ExplorerThis resource combines census data from 1790-2010 with a user-friendly interface, easily allowing the creation of maps and statistical tables. Census tract-level data available back to 1940.
-
UCSD Guide to Census ResearchProvides information, resources and data availability for each decade of the Census of Population and Housing from 1790 to 2000.
New Resource...
Google's new Dataset Search provides one-stop access to data, primarily in the social sciences, stored in thousands of repositories across the web.
The search is in beta as of September 2018, so please feel free to let me know if you find this a useful resource.
San Diego Statistics
-
American FactFinderCensus data from 2000 and 2010, plus ACS data.
-
ARJIS: Automated Regional Justice System for San DiegoCrime data for selected cities in San Diego County, available monthly from 2008- .
-
Crime Statistics & MapsFrom the San Diego Police Dept.
-
Medical Examiner StatisticsSan Diego County deaths, from 2000-
-
Metropolitan Transit System Financial ReportsThough the focus of these annual reports is on financials, they also include brief statistical looks at services, capital assets and ridership.
-
RAND State StatisticsData at the state, county, city, and zip code levels. Includes demographic and housing data at the neighborhood level in San Diego.
-
San Diego International Airport: Air Traffic ReportsPassenger and cargo counts from 1950-
-
San Diego Census of Population & Housing, 1990: User-Defined Areas ProgramNeighborhood data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
-
San Diego Regional Data LibraryThis is a developing organization, with a very small number of data sets currently available.
-
San Diego Regional Economic IndicatorsIncludes economic indexes, employment data, housing indicators, mortgage rates, sales statistics, stock indexes, toruism industry statistics, and charity donation data.
-
SANDAG Demographics & Other DataPopulation, transportation and crime statistics/estimates.