Skip to main content
Books in the Library
These books are a sample of the great books available at the UCSD Libraries related to your Area of Concentration. Don't forget to to use the book's "Subject Heading" links to find more books on similar topics. Find more books & resources in the Library's Roger catalog.
Article & Research Databases
These databases must be used on campus or from a computer with proxy or VPN access set up. Don't forget to check out the Urban Studies Research Guide for more databases!
These databases must be used on campus or from a computer with Proxy or VPN access set up.
Border and migration studies online
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Indexes journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Latin America Data Base (LADB)
1986-present. Searchable database of weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs. Current titles are NotiSur (South America), SourceMex (Mexico), NotiCen (Central America).
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in Urban Studies & related disciplines from 1973-present. Some full-text available, use UC-eLinks to access more.
Web Resources & Organizations
These resources are freely available on the web. They might include organizations and/or government agencies relevant to your Area of Concentration. Most sites will include publications and research in addition to information on projects undertaken by the organization or agency.
Center for Comparative Immigration Studies
UCSD research institute dedicated to comparative, cross-national and cross-regional research on international migration and immigration policy.
Institute for Regional Studies of the Californias
This Institute, based at SDSU, has undertaken multidisciplinary applied research projects on important regional concerns, including: transborder environmental issues, policy perspectives of the California-Mexico relationship, quality of life, and sustainable development.
Joint Working Committee U.S./Mexico Border Transportation Planning
Group composed of government transportation employees from both sides of the border. The Committee works to promote effective communication concerning transportation planning between U.S.-Mexico border states, and to develop a well-coordinated land transportation planning process along the border.
Tijuana River Watershed
Collaborative effort to provide information about the Watershed area. Website includes data and interactive maps, full-text publications, information about Border 2012 and Border 2020, and links to additional information.
UCSD Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies
Part of the school for International Relations and Pacific Studies at UCSD. The Center support multidisciplinary research on Mexico, U.S.-Mexican relations, and Mexican-origin populations in North America.
Recent UC Dissertations
Dissertations are available through the Proquest database Dissertations & Theses. See our remote access instructions for off campus access. University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Others may be requested through ILL. There is no need to purchase them unless you want your own copy.
The list below is an automated RSS feed from the ProQuest database, showing recent UC dissertations related to border issues. To see more, click the "Feed" link at the bottom of the list. You can then subscribe to the feed if you'd like.