Skip to main content

Get Started with Research

How can I get to the full text of an article when I search a database?

How to find the full-text of the article:

Some databases include the full text of the article in the database.  Look for icons or links that say:

  • HTML  (good version for reading on a computer screen)
  • PDF  (good version for printing or saving to a portable drive)
  • Full Text  (no specific format listed, but full text nonetheless)

If the article isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange UC-eLinks button  uc elinks to checkfor other full text as well as print options.  UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Library's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print. 

UC-eLinks makes it easy to:

  1. Check for online access
  2. Check the catalog (Roger) for the print version
  3. Use Request to have us get a copy from another library (known as interlibrary loan)
  4. Format the citation information in one of 5 sytles to easily paste into your bibliography - use Copy & Paste citation

 

 

Finding Full Text From a Citation

Bibliographies are a great source of information for your own research. If you've found a book or an article that is especially useful, always take a look at the bibliography or works cited. You can use citations to find copies of the books and articles that are referenced.

A great way to do this is with UC-eLinksCitation Linker. If you have a citation and you want to find the article that it references, enter the citation information in the appropriate fields. The Citation Linker will retrieve a digital copy of the article if one is available.

If a digital copy is not available, you will be able to search the library catalog for the title of the journal in which the article was published.  If the Library owns a print copy, you will then have to locate the print journal on the shelves or request a scanned copy using the Document Delivery Request Form. If the Library does not have access, you may use Interlibrary Loan to request it.