LibGuides: SOC 188E: Community and Social Change in Africa: News

Major Newspapers

Nexis Uni
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Former name: Academic Universe, LexisNexis
Los Angeles Times (1881 - present)
Search and view full text of the Los Angeles Times on Proquest.
New York Times (1999-present)
Search and display full text of the New York Times on Proquest. Uses the Late Edition (East Coast)

Newspapers Guide
This more comprehensive guide will help you locate current and historical newspapers to which we have access.

ABYZ News Links: Africa: Section on Africa from ABYZ News directory, which Links to newspapers, broadcast and other news media around the world, by country. It includes local, national, and also "foreign sources" published on each country.
AllAfrica.com: Online distributor of African news and information, posting over 1,000 stories daily in English and French, and a searchable archive of 900,000 articles (including the Africa News Service back to 1997).
Access World News [UCSD Only] Dates vary. More than 1500 sources worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers,local news video for the U.S.; newspapers for Canada, UK and other English-speaking countries. For the rest of the world mostly wire services, and BBC news digests. This link takes you directly to African news.
Kidon Media-Link: Africa: Section on Africa from Kidon Media Link, a directory of global newspapers, magazines, television, radio, and news agencies.
World News Connection [UCSD Only] 1994-present. Translations and summaries by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and nonclassified technical reports. Successor to FBIS

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.