Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AASHE STARS (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education. The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System)
Self-reporting framework for colleges and universities to measure sustainability performance. Includes over 100 colleges and universities worldwide.
Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU)
Also known as "Shanghai Ranking." Produced by the Center for World-Class Universities of Shanghai Jiao Tong University (CWCU) and published by ShanghaiRanking Consultancy. Includes World's Top 500 Universities, World’s Top 200 Universities in five broad subject fields, and World’s Top 200 Universities in five ranked subjects.
CHE (Center for Higher Education) University Ranking (Zeit Online)
Options include subjects, university towns, and ability to create your individual ranking. Covers higher education institutions (HEIs) in German-speaking countries.
CWTS Leiden Ranking
From the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS), Leiden University, The Netherlands. Measures the scientific performance of 750 major universities worldwide.
Center for World University Rankings (CWUR)
From Center for World University Rankings, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. Uses eight objective and robust indicators to rank the world's top 1,000 universities: Rankings also available by region and country.
Complete University Guide
Ranking of United Kingdom (UK) universities based on nine key aspects of university activity. Includes ranking by university, subject, region and more. The league tables are compiled by Mayfield University Consultants.
Free Speech University Rankings (FSUR)
The United Kingdom's first university rankings for free speech. FSUR was launched by the online magazine spiked with sponsorship from the Joseph Rowntree Reform Trust, Policy Exchange, the Tab and Academics for Academic Freedom (AFAF).
Guardian University Guide
Ranking of United Kingdom (UK) universities and every subject taught at UK universities.
Highly Cited Researchers (Thomson Reuters)
In 2014 only articles and reviews in science and social sciences journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection during the 11-year period 2002-2012 were surveyed and only Highly Cited Papers were considered. Highly Cited Papers are defined as those that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year indexed in the Web of Science, which is generally but not always year of publication.
LinkedIn University Rankings
Analyzed employment patterns of over 300 million LinkedIn members from around the world to determine what the desirable jobs are within several professions and which graduates get those desirable jobs. The professions are: accounting professionals, designers, finance professionals, investment bankers, marketers, media professionals, software developers, and software developers at startups. Included are Undergraduate rankings for Canada, United Kingdom, and the United States.
Nature Publishing Index - 2013 Global Top 200
Rankings based on number of papers published in 2013 from institutions included in listing. Rankings only include primary research papers that were published as "Articles, Letters and Brief Communications" in Nature and/or Nature monthly research journals. Nature also publishes the top institutions in the Asia-Pacific Region and reports for Australia, China, Japan and Korea.
People & Planet Green League Tables
Only comprehensive and independent league table of UK universities ranked by environmental and ethical performance. Compiled annually by the UK’s largest student campaigning network, People & Planet.
Perspektywy University Ranking
Ranking of Poland's universities produced by Perspektywy Education Foundation. Overall, as many as 33 criteria were used and grouped into six categories: prestige, academic strength, academic effectiveness, teaching and learning, internationalization, and innovation.
QS World University Rankings
From Quacquarelli Symonds Limited. Includes World University Rankings (also with comparisons by region, subject, or factors such as reputation or research citations), University Rankings: Asia, University Rankings: Latin America, University Rankings: BRICS and Top 50 under 50 (world’s top 50 universities established within the last 50 years.) Also includes QS Stars, a tool that evaluates universities on an individual basis.
Ranking Web of Universities
Produced by Cybermetrics Lab, a research group of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), the largest public research body in Spain. Ranking Web of World Universities is also known as "Webometrics Ranking of World Universities." Includes more than 20,000 higher education institutions ranked in world, region and by country.
Scimago Institutions Rankings
Developed by Scimago Lab with data from Scopus. Rankings include worldwide, region and by country.
THE (Times Higher Education) World University Rankings
From Times Higher Education. Beginning in 2015 rankings will be developed with Elsevier's Scopus database; previously they were developed with Thomson Reuters. Includes World University Rankings World Reputation Rankings, 100 under 50 (Top 100 universities under 50 years old.), Asia University Rankings, and BRICS & Emerging Economies Rankings.
Top 200 Universities and Colleges in the World
From 4 International Colleges & Universities. Includes over 11,000 colleges and universities, ranked by web popularity, in 200 countries. It is not an academic ranking.
Top-200 Ukraina project
Academic rating of Top-200 Ukraine universities
Top World Universities (U.S. News & World Report)
Includes Top World Universities, and Top Universities in Asia. New ranking of Best Arab Region Universities coming Nov. 4, 2014. U.S. News & World Report also publishes Best Colleges and Best Graduate Schools.
UI GreenMetric World University Ranking
From Universitas Indonesia. Provides a world ranking of university sustainability.
Ongoing project in which the European classification of higher education institutions is further developed and implemented. U-Map offers two tools:ProfileFinder produces a list of higher education institutions (HEIs) that are comparable on the characteristics selected; ProfileViewer gives an institutional activity profile you can use to compare three HEIs. U-Map will be fully operational when the underlying database comprises a sufficient number of higher education institutions.
Launched in 2014 with funding from the European Union (EU.) Headed by the Centre for Higher Education Policy Studies in The Netherlands and the Centre for Higher Education in Germany. UMR is a web-based tool. The 2014 rankings include 1,210 higher education institutions from 83 countries.
Official website for comparing UK higher education course data. Includes official data for undergraduate courses on each university and college's satisfaction scores in the National Student Survey, jobs and salaries after study and other key information for prospective students.
University Autonomy in Europe
From European University Association (EUA). Compares university autonomy in 29 European higher education systems. Focus is on four autonomy areas and ranks countries according to the level of autonomy they have in each of these. The site mostly describes the state of university autonomy in late 2010.
University Ranking by Academic Performance (URAP)
From URAP Research Laboratory, Middle East Technical University in Turkey. URAP has gathered data about 2,500 Higher Education Institutes (HEI) and ranks on academic quality. Rankings include worldwide, region and by country.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
See page 39 for "Top 50 Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applicants: universities, 2013." From the Patent Cooperation Treaty Yearly Review (2014.)