Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AASHE STARS (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education. The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System)
Self-reporting framework for colleges and universities to measure sustainability performance. Includes over 100 colleges and universities worldwide.
Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU)
Also known as "Shanghai Ranking." Produced by the Center for World-Class Universities of Shanghai Jiao Tong University (CWCU) and published by ShanghaiRanking Consultancy. Includes World's Top 500 Universities, World’s Top 200 Universities in five broad subject fields, and World’s Top 200 Universities in five ranked subjects.
The Alumni Factor
Rankings based on alumni feedback from colleges in U.S. Includes Top 277 schools. Guidebook available for sale in addition to subscriber access.
America's Top Colleges (Forbes)
Rankings by Forbes in conjunction with the Center for College Affordability and Productivity (CCAP.) 650 schools are included. Twelve factors used to calculate rankings, each of which falls into one of five general categories.
Award Summary: Top 50 Institutions (National Science Foundation (NSF))
Lists institutions in the United States which received the largest portion of NSF Funding. Includes number of awards and amount of funding per award for each institution.
Best Bang for the Buck Rankings (Washington Monthly)
Schools in the United States ranked on the economic value students receive per dollar. NOTE: See also 'College Rankings (Washington Monthly.)’
Best Colleges (U.S. News & World Report)
Print edition owned by the library; online edition is abbreviated. Includes over 1,300 colleges in the United States. Lists include National universities Rankings, National Liberal Arts Colleges Rankings, Regional rankings and others. U.S. News & World Report also publishes Best Global Universities and Best Graduate Schools.
Best...Colleges (Princeton Review)
Print edition owned by the library and available online. Surveyed 130,000 students at 379 top colleges in the U.S. Included are Top 20 colleges in 62 categories.
Best Graduate Schools (U.S. News & World Report)
Print edition owned by the library; online edition is abbreviated. Rankings of professional-school programs in business, education, engineering, law and medicine. Also includes rankings of programs in science, social sciences, humanities, and other areas. U.S. News & World Report also publishes Best Colleges and Best Global Universities.
Beyond College Rankings (Brookings Institution) NEW
A '‘value added’ ranking of two and four-year colleges. Value-added refers to the relative contribution made by schools to alumni economic success.
CWTS Leiden Ranking
From the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS), Leiden University, The Netherlands. Measures the scientific performance of 750 major universities worldwide.
Center for World University Rankings (CWUR)
From Center for World University Rankings, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. Uses eight objective and robust indicators to rank the world's top 1,000 universities: Rankings also available by region and country.
College Affordability and Transparency Center (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Includes lists of institutions based on tuition, fees and net prices (price of attendance after considering all grant and scholarship aid) charged to students. Lists were generated using data collected by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) through the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS).
College Rankings (College Factual)
Includes Best Colleges for the Money, Overall Best Colleges, Best Colleges for Veterans, Best Sports Colleges, Most Diverse Colleges, and College Rankings by Major. Cover schools in the United States.
College Rankings (Unigo)
Rankings based on feedback from current college students. Includes Top 10 schools in the United States of happiest students, famous faculty, hipster colleges and much more.
College Rankings (Washington Monthly)
Schools in the United States ranked on their contribution to the public good in three broad categories: Social Mobility (recruiting and graduating low-income students), Research (producing cutting-edge scholarship and PhDs), and Service (encouraging students to give something back to their country.) Washington Monthly also publishes Best Bang for the Buck Rankings (Washington Monthly.)
College Sustainability Report Card
From the Sustainable Endowments Institute. The College Sustainability Report Card is also known as the "Green Report Card." Provides sustainability profiles for hundreds of colleges in all 50 U.S. states and Canada. Report Cards from 2007-2011; suspended in 2012.
Cool Schools (Sierra Magazine)
Ranking of America's greenest colleges. Provides fair, comparative information about the most important elements of campus sustainability. Ranking is open to all four-year, degree-granting undergraduate colleges and universities in the United States.
Data-based assessment of research-doctorate programs in the United States (National Research Council (NRC))
Print edition owned by the library; published in 2011. Presents findings from data collected for the 2005-2006 academic year from more than 5,000 doctoral programs at 212 universities. This report also includes illustrations of how the data can be used to produce rankings of doctoral programs based on measures important to faculty, students, administrators, funders, and other stakeholders.
ETC College Rankings Index
From Educate To Career (ETC) and Job Search Intelligence (JSI.) Ranking determined by 'economic value added' defined as being the improvement in earnings and employability of graduates; measured against the total cost of the education. Data analyzed for over 1,200 U.S. accredited 4 year colleges, with annual enrollments greater than 1,000 students.
Graduate School Rankings
From PhDs.org. Rank graduate programs at 1,600 U.S. universities.
Highly Cited Researchers (Thomson Reuters)
In 2014 only articles and reviews in science and social sciences journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection during the 11-year period 2002-2012 were surveyed and only Highly Cited Papers were considered. Highly Cited Papers are defined as those that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year indexed in the Web of Science, which is generally but not always year of publication.
Kiplinger's Best College Values
From Kiplinger.com. Compare 100 top values in U.S. public colleges and universities, or create custom lists of individual colleges or schools from a particular state. Ranking based on combination of academic quality and affordability.
Money's Best Colleges (Money Magazine)
U.S. colleges ranked on 18 factors in three categories: Quality of Education, Affordability and Outcomes. Also includes other rankings: Top 25 Best Public Colleges, Top 25 Best Private Colleges, and more.
The Most Economically Diverse Top Colleges (The New York Times, The Upshot)
Measures top colleges’ efforts on economic diversity. The Upshot calculated a College Access Index which measures efforts to enroll lower-income students. Covers schools in the United States.
Nature Publishing Index - 2013 Global Top 200
Rankings based on number of papers published in 2013 from institutions included in listing. Rankings only include primary research papers that were published as "Articles, Letters and Brief Communications" in Nature and/or Nature monthly research journals. Nature also publishes the top institutions in the Asia-Pacific Region and reports for Australia, China, Japan and Korea.
OEDb - Open Education Database
Covers the United States. Data is gathered from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), the National Center for Education Statistics.
The 100 Most Expensive Colleges
From CampusGrotto.com. The 100 most expensive colleges in U.S. by total cost (total cost = Tuition + Room and Board + Required Fees.)
Peace Corps Top Colleges
Top 25 colleges and universities in the United States that produced the most Peace Corps volunteers. Rankings include large, medium and small colleges and universities. Also included are Top 5 graduate schools and historical data.
QS World University Rankings
From Quacquarelli Symonds Limited. Includes World University Rankings (also with comparisons by region, subject, or factors such as reputation or research citations), University Rankings: Asia, University Rankings: Latin America, University Rankings: BRICS and Top 50 under 50 (world’s top 50 universities established within the last 50 years.) Also includes QS Stars, a tool that evaluates universities on an individual basis.
Ranking Tables of National Institutes of Health (NIH) Funding to US Medical Schools
From the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research. Information contained in the Award files was obtained from the Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool (RePORT) from the National Institutes of Health.
Ranking Web of Universities
Produced by Cybermetrics Lab, a research group of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), the largest public research body in Spain. Ranking Web of World Universities is also known as "Webometrics Ranking of World Universities." Includes more than 20,000 higher education institutions ranked in world, region and by country
Scimago Institutions Rankings
Developed by Scimago Lab with data from Scopus. Rankings include worldwide, region and by country.
THE (Times Higher Education) World University Rankings
From Times Higher Education. Beginning in 2015 rankings will be developed with Elsevier's Scopus database; previously they were developed with Thomson Reuters. Includes World University Rankings World Reputation Rankings, 100 under 50 (Top 100 universities under 50 years old.), Asia University Rankings, and BRICS & Emerging Economies Rankings.
Top American Research Universities
From The Center for Measuring University Performance. Provides data on over 600 institutions. The Center classifies universities into groups in accord with nine institutional characteristics.
Top 100 Colleges for Hispanics
From The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education Magazine. Top 100 U.S. schools enrolling and awarding degrees to Hispanic students.
Top 200 Universities and Colleges in the World
From 4 International Colleges & Universities. Includes over 11,000 colleges and universities, ranked by web popularity, in 200 countries. It is not an academic ranking.
Top World Universities (U.S. News & World Report)
Includes Top World Universities, and Top Universities in Asia. New ranking of Best Arab Region Universities coming Nov. 4, 2014. U.S. News & World Report also publishes Best Colleges and Best Graduate Schools.
UI GreenMetric World University Ranking
From Universitas Indonesia. Provides a world ranking of university sustainability.
Launched in 2014 with funding from the European Union (EU.) Headed by the Centre for Higher Education Policy Studies in The Netherlands and the Centre for Higher Education in Germany. UMR is a web-based tool. The 2014 rankings include 1,210 higher education institutions from 83 countries.
University Ranking by Academic Performance (URAP)
From URAP Research Laboratory, Middle East Technical University in Turkey. URAP has gathered data about 2,500 Higher Education Institutes (HEI) and ranks on academic quality. Rankings include worldwide, region and by country.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
See page 39 for "Top 50 Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applicants: universities, 2013." From the Patent Cooperation Treaty Yearly Review (2014.)