Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Images and Maps

An introductory guide to doing research in Latin American studies in the UCSD Library

Online/Digital Images

AP Images 

Over 4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to present day. Tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920's, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present

ARTstor Licensed by UCSD 

"The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates."

UCSD Library Digital Collections 

Much of the content in UCSD's Baja California collections, Missions of Alta California, and Spanish Civil War collection have been digitized.

Perry-Castañeda Map Collection, UT Austin 

UNHCR Map Portal 

Ibero-Amerikanisches Institute Digital José Guadalupe Posada Collection 

Works of mexican popular culture from the end of the 19th to the beginning of the 20th centuries with illustrations by José Guadalupe Posada (1854-1913)

David Rumsey Map Collection 

Online, Searchable, Historical Map Collection Provided by Stanford University

Old Maps Online 

Provides access to historical maps hosted online by repositories around the world.