LibGuides: Latin American Studies: Finding Articles

News Articles

See the News Sources on Latin America tab to find news articles that may constitute primary or secondary sources depending on your project

Key Latin American Studies Periodicals

The following journals are dedicated to publishing articles on Latin America. It may be useful to browse the table of contents (electronically, or physically – in the library) for some of them to get an idea of the kinds of subjects that scholars in particular fields work on and to find articles for your research. Clicking on the titles will bring you to the UC Library Search record to see how to access them physically (on the shelf) or electronically (online)

Américas (Washington, Organization of American States)

The Americas (West Bethesda, Md. [etc.]: Academy of American Franciscan History)

Canadian journal of Latin American and Caribbean studies

Colonial Latin American Review

EcoAméricas: A Monthly Report on Development and the Environment in Latin America

Estudios Mexicanos/Mexican Studies

Hispania

Hispanic American Historical Review (HAHR)

Hispanic Review

Journal of Caribbean History

Journal of Iberian and Latin American Studies

Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology

Journal of Latin American Studies (JLAS)

Latin American Research Review (LARR)

Latin American Perspectives (LAP)

Luso-Brazilian Review

NACLA Report on the Americas

Revista europea de estudios latinoamericanos y del Caribe = European review of Latin American and Caribbean studies

Revista Iberoamericana

Tesserae: Journal of Iberian and Latin-American Studies

Vibrant: Virtual Brazilian Anthropology [Open-access journal publishing articles in Portuguese, Spanish, English, and French]

Subject or Regionally Specific Databases Useful for Latin American Searches

americanismo (CEEIB and Redial)

Portal providing access to Latin American resources identified by two scholarly networks dedicated to scientific and academic cooperation between Spain and Latin America: the Consejo Español de Estudios Iberoamericano (CEEIB) and the Red Europea de Documentación de Información (Redial) sobre América Latina. Includes links to online periodicals, unpublished presentations, digital libraries, and bibliographic databases.

ClasePeriodica Licensed by UCSD

CLASE indexes articles published in over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers over 1400 Latin American journals in science and technology. The merged database has over 400,00 citations dating back to 1975.

Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) Virtual Library Database

Contains the publications of 159 research organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean that form the membership of CLACSO. Spanish Language.

Dialnet

Carries over 1100 open access e-journals, primarily written and published in the Spanish language. Dialnet is produced and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.

For the print version, see: Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE

Click on More for different ways to use

more...

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Licensed by UCSD

1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

LAPOP

Vanderbilt University's LAPOP carries out surveys of public opinion in the Americas. Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey (which FSU subscribes to), which currently covers all 26 Latin American countires in North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. Each year also it publishes dozens of academic studies and policy-relevant papers on more focused topics.

Latindex

Sistema regional de información en linea para Revistas científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal; Regional system of online information for scientific magazines of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.

REDALYC

Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal (Web of Scientific Magazines of Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal). Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.

SciELO

Scientific Electronic Library Online, covering over 400,000 articles from 1000 academic journals published in Latin America.

[Brazil] Fundação Getulio Vargas (FGV) Centro de Pesquisa e Documentação de História Contemporânea (CPDOC) do Brasil

Center of Research and Documentation for the Contemporary History of Brazil

[Central America] Academico Enlace Centroamerica

Portal to published and non-published Central American research resources, institutes and organizations.

[Central America] Metabase: Bibliografía en Red

MetaBase se permite accesar y ubicar recursos bibliográficos disponibles en bibliotecas y centros de documentación en Centroamérica.

Encuentra una biblioteca por el URL: http://www.metabase.net/busqueda2bib.phtml?qm=a

Pone el programa en su computadora por el URL: http://www.metabase.net/acerca/

[Central America] Central American Journals Online

[Central America] Repositorio Centroamericano

The SIIDCA-CSUCA discoverer provides access to the contents and complete texts of institutional repositories of CSUCA's universities.

[Mesoamerican/Pre-Columbian Studies] Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies (FAMSI)

Website provides definitions and maps of key terms and locations and specialized database, including Bibliografia Mesoamericana, the Maya Vase Database, and A Precolumbian Portfolio (with photographs of pre-Columbian Objects)

Interdisciplinary Subject Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
International index to journal articles published from 1972 to 2015, provides access to more than 20 million references in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
ProQuest Congressional
Congressional sources provide information on virtually every topic imaginable, including any topic in foreign relations or in another country with which the US government was/is concerned. Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports are often excellent starting points for research topics, because these are studies carried out by subject experts at the Library of Congress for government employees and members of congress, and included excellent summaries and bibliographies.

Subject-Specific Databases: Subjects A-D

ANTHROPOLOGY and ARCHAEOLOGY

Anthropology Plus
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
eHRAF Archaeology
Cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I, II & III)
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in UC Library Search - under title Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos.

ART

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2009. For more recent publications (2008- ), use the International Bibliography of Art.

AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (including slavery)

Bibliography of World Slavery
Lists about 25,000 scholarly works published since 1900in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I, II & III)
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in UC Library Search - under title Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos.

BORDER STUDIES

Border and migration studies online
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.

BUSINESS and ECONOMICS

Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
EconLit
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent Latin American coverage.

COMMUNICATION

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Communication Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).

Communication:
Dates vary. Searches full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some going back as far as 1955, and including most recent issues.

CRIMINOLOGY

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

Criminology: A Sage Full Text Collection
Includes full-text of 17 journals, 1990 - present. Subjects covered include: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.

Subject-Specific Databases: Subjects E-M

EDUCATION

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Provides full-text access to over 20 journals published by Sage on topics in education such as curriculum and theory, research methods, diversity, counseling, budgeting, law, standards, and technology. Coverage for some titles dates from 1976. Updated monthly
Education Source
1929-present. Includes more than 2,850 academic periodicals, full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.

ETHNIC STUDIES (See also African American and Native American Studies)

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I, II & III)
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in UC Library Search - under title Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos.

FILM (Streaming/Online Film AND Film Reviews/Analysis/Criticism)

Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I, II & III)
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in UC Library Search - under title Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos.

LGBT Studies in Video
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
New York Times Film Reviews
1960-present complete; selective 1929-1959. Film reviews published by New York Times critics, may be searched by genre, critic, and country of origin. Free registration with Times site is required.
Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
MLA International Bibliography
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.

GENDER and SEXUALITY and FAMILY STUDIES

Contemporary Women's Issues
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Defining Gender is a collection of over 50,000 images from 669 original documents relating to Gender Studies. The sources come from libraries and archives throughout the world, including many from the Bodleian Library in Oxford, England
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.

Gender and Land Rights Database
Provided by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, contains country level information on social, economic, political and cultural issues as it relates to gender inequalities.

GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
LGBT Studies in Video
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-present).

GOVERNMENT & POLICY (See also International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Administration)

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal)
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Find reporting, analysis on US Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee actiity and backroom maneuvering. Includes: CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. All include information on Latin America particularly in the context of US-Latin American relations.

Criminology: A Sage Full Text Collection
Includes full-text of 17 journals, 1990 - present. Subjects covered include: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.

Military & Government Collection
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
PAIS Archive
Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter.

HEALTH

CINAHL
The Cumulative Index for Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) has articles back to 1937 and covers over 1000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, including physical therapy, and public health. It has a strong outcomes based focused (from the nursing field). A great resource including a variety of materials, not just journal articles.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.

HISTORY

Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Empire Online
A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007.

IMMIGRATION

Border and migration studies online
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal)
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
The decision to discontinue the eLibrary supports the World Bank’s initiatives to become more open, transparent, and accessible to the public.These initiatives, including its Open Access, Open Data and Access to Information policies, allow anyone to freely access and build upon more than 75 years of World Bank knowledge and experience in poverty reduction and development projects across a wide variety of sectors in low- and middle-income countries.
All World Bank publications and data available on the World Bank eLibrary platform will continue to be freely available through the World Bank’s Documents and Reports website, Open Data portal, or the Open Knowledge Repository (OKR), which has undergone a major upgrade earlier this year.

LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

MLA International Bibliography
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

LAW

HeinOnline
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
Canadian Content
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Provincial Statutes of Canada

Case Law
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
U.S. Supreme Court Library

International Resources
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
History of International Law
Law Library of Congress Reports
Open Society Justice Initiative
Provincial Statutes of Canada
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Treaty Library

International Treaties and Agreements
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Treaty Library

Journals and Periodicals
Bar Journals
Law Journal Library
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases

Special Collections
Air and Space Law
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Cataloging Legal Literature
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Democracy in America
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
LGBTQ+ Rights
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Academy Project
Legal Classics
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Military and Government
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Voting Rights & Election Law
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)

U.S. Federal Content
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
History of Supreme Court Nominations
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Library of Congress Reports
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
Water Rights & Resources

U.S. State Content
Civil Rights and Social Justice
LGBTQ+ Rights
National Survey of State Laws
Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide
Session Laws Library
State Attorney General Reports and Opinions
State Constitutions Illustrated
State Reports: A Historical Archive
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Subject Compilations of State Laws
Water Rights & Resources

Subject-Specific Databases: Subjects M-Z

MIGRATION

Border and migration studies online
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

MUSIC (Streaming AND Musicology/Analysis)

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
Full texts of articles in a range of music journals and magazines. Now known as Music Periodicals Database.
International Index to the Performing Arts (Full-Text) (IIPA-FT)
An index to over 200 journals and magazines in the fields of dance, drama, film, theater, opera, puppetry, circus, and other forms of performance art.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
A growing database of audio tracks to include reggae, world beat, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Arab swing and jazz, and traditional genres such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, and gagaku.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Articles on ethnic and folk music worldwide, describing national and specific musical genres, practices, instruments, performances, and the cultural context.
Music Periodicals Database
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The majority of the records in the database are from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition
Naxos Music Library
Primarily classical music with over 100,000 tracks from 6,500 CDs. Includes the complete collections for Naxos and several smaller labels. New titles added monthly. Also includes jazz, pop and rock, and music from around the world.
Primarily classical music with over 100,000 tracks from 6,500 CDs. Includes the complete collections for Naxos and several smaller labels. New titles added monthly.
Oxford Music Online
The most comprehensive online music encyclopedia, combining access to Grove Music Online with the Encyclopedia of Popular Music and other reference resources.
RILM abstracts of musical literature
An international scope and focus on scholarly publications. Coverage is 1967 to date for the current database and the early 1800s for a combination of RILM and RILM Retro.

POLITICAL SCIENCE

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter.
SSRN Electronic Library
The Social Science Research Network is a searchable archive of downloadable research articles and working papers in economics, finance, management, accounting, law, Latin America, and other fields. Includes abstracts and many downloadable full text documents, however UCSD currently only purchases a full access subscription to the Political Science Network module.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
The decision to discontinue the eLibrary supports the World Bank’s initiatives to become more open, transparent, and accessible to the public.These initiatives, including its Open Access, Open Data and Access to Information policies, allow anyone to freely access and build upon more than 75 years of World Bank knowledge and experience in poverty reduction and development projects across a wide variety of sectors in low- and middle-income countries.
All World Bank publications and data available on the World Bank eLibrary platform will continue to be freely available through the World Bank’s Documents and Reports website, Open Data portal, or the Open Knowledge Repository (OKR), which has undergone a major upgrade earlier this year.

PSYCHOLOGY

PsychArticles
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.

PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION and POLICY

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PAIS Archive
Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

Policy Archive
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.

SOCIOLOGY

Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-text Collection
Includes the full-text of 28 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years. Database consists of bibliographic records as well as the complete text of each journal article in pdf format.

Latin American Studies: Finding Articles

Creating Alerts to Keep up with New Publications