Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Special Collections at UCSD
UCSD's Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) materials are cataloged in UC Library Search and finding aids for manuscript collections are available on the SC&A website, along with policies and more information. All SC&A materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive at the library. Keep an eye out for materials that are located offsite (it will say so in UC Library Search), as delivery times for these items may be up to a week.
- Register online to use Special Collections & Archives: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon. Once registered, you can place requests online directly from the catalog and finding aids, or log in to your account to queue requests for a future visit and to view previous requests.
- In addition to registering you will also need to show your photo ID when you visit Special Collections.
UCSD Digital Collections
Digitization has made many of UCSD’s special collections more widely accessible through UCSD Digital Collections.
Digital Collections with Latin American or Latino/Hispanic-American content include:
- Armed Revolutionary Organizations in Mexico (Printed and manuscript materials created between 1965 and 1998 by 23 distinct revolutionary groups in Mexico. The collection is particularly strong in ephemeral communiques and revolutionary periodicals such as "13 de junio," "Madera" and "Militante." Images were digitized from originals held by the UC San Diego Library). See also the Colegio de Mexico's complementary collection Movimientos Armados en Mexico.
- Baja California (Images of Baja California digitized from original photographs by Harry Crosby, Howard Gulick, and Marquis McDonald)
- Farmworker Movement Documentation Project (Primary Source Accounts by the UFW Volunteers who built the movement (many of whom were of Latin American Descent)
- Harry Crosby Photographs (Includes photographs of Baja California, 1967-1962 and Sonora, Mexico, 1958-1986).
- Herman Baca (A selection of documents illustrating the work and activities of Chicano activist Herman Baca and the Committee on Chicano Rights, 1964-2006)
- The Insite Archive (Materials documenting the inSite organization and the projects of its artists (1992-2006). Created as a network of contemporary art programs and commissioned projects among non-profit and public institutions, inSite explored public or contextual art practice in the specific context of the San Diego-Tijuana border region. In 1980, Installation Gallery was opened in San Diego with a goal to present local and regional artists. In 1992, inSite was formed, replacing Installation Gallery. InSite has had five major versions: inSITE92, inSITE94, inSITE97, inSITE2000, and inSite_05).
- Latin American Political Campaign Ephemera Collection (Pamphlets, posters, other campaign materials from various Latin American countries, 1990s-2009)
- Marquis McDonald Photographs (Photographs by Marquis McDonald during a 1949-1950 overland trip down the Baja California Peninsula)
- The Mexican Broadsides (Broadsides (single and double-sided, one-sheet documents) produced in Mexico between the early 1600s and 1899. They include religious and government documents on a wide range of topics. The government documents include correspondence between representatives from a range of state and federal agencies, gubernatorial and presidential administrations, and state and national legislatures.
- Pueblos Yucatecos (Audio interviews, transcriptions, and photographs related to life in 5 rural Maya communities in the state of Mexico between the early 20th and early 21st centuries)
- The Spanish Civil War Collection and the Spanish Civil War Memory Project
UCSD Collections in the (Online) Internet Archive
The Internet Archive has a Way-Back Machine that preserves old websites so that they can be consulted even after they are no longer live on the internet. The Archive contains a Collection of UCSD Materials, which has the following Latin American content:
The Mexican Presidential Election 2012 Archive, which preserves various iterations of the webpages of seven Mexican political parties leading up to and immediately following inauguration of president Enrique Peña Nieto, on Dec. 1, 2012.
The Venezuelan Elections 2012 Archive which preserves various iterations of the webpages of four Venezuelan political parties leading up to and immediately following gthe scheduled inauguration of the incumbent president Hugo Chávez on Jan. 10, 2013.
UCSD Special Collections with Latin American Content
Encompassing UC San Diego's Mandeville Special Collections and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives, UCSD's Special Collections & Archives houses a wide range of rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, artworks, recordings, and archives. These primary source materials support UCSD's instructional and research programs, and distinguish UCSD's library collections from all other research universities. These special collections include significant holdings related to Latin America. See especially the:
Latin American content can also be found in:
- The Margarita Melville Papers, comprised of personal correspondence, manifestos and other material gathered by Margarita Melville, a Maryknoll nun who worked in Jacaltenango, Guatemala and was expelled from her order for her association with guerilla groups
- The inSite Archive. InSite produced collaborative contemporary public art projects in the San Diego-Tijuana region. The archive includes publications, administrative files, audio and video materials, and digital materials which document the numerous projects created by inSite artists, as well as the daily functions of the organization between 1992 and 2006.
- The Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection
- Among the many Artist's Books in Special Collections: To identify, do an advanced search in the UCSD Catalog, limiting the location to Special Collections and searching with the term artist's book and keywords such as Border, Brazil, Chile, Mexico or by the artist's name