Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Citation Management Tools

An introductory guide to doing research in Latin American studies in the UCSD Library

Zotero and Endnote

Zotero and Endnote work similarly.  In both cases, you install a bookmark into your browser so that you can import and save citations into the citation management system. 

In Zotero,the bookmark you install in your browser is called the “zotero connector.”  Your entire collection of citations is called “My Library” and specific lists of titles by theme (folders) are called “collections”

In Endnote, the bookmark you install into your browser is called is called “Capture Reference.” Your entire collection of citations is called “My References” and specific lists of titles by theme (folders) are called “groups.” 

Zotero

To install Zotero on your computer, go to: https://www.zotero.org/.  This will provide you with the link to download the program and also the plugin ("zotero connector") you need to download in order to place the zotero icon in your browser window to import (and store) citations.

Here's a very useful introduction to using Zotero -- both online and as a downloadable PDF *please note that it's easier to link from the online version to pages with more specific instructions on its functionality -- including the fact that you can drag and drop a complete citation from the zotero window into any text and generate a bibliography by selecting the citations you want to include and right clicking.

Another handy tool in Zotero to be aware of is ZoteroBib – which can be used when you want to load in a batch of titles quickly by using unique numbers (like ISBN or DOI) or titles only.

Using Endnote Web

To set up your Endnote Web account, go to myendnoteweb.com.  

Once you've created a user id and password, click on Downloads in the top toolbar and drag the gray Capture Reference box to the bookmark menu of your browser.

If you can't see your bookmark menu follow these instructions depending on which browser you use.

  • Firefox: ViewToolbars, and check off Bookmarks Toolbar
  • Chrome: Click the 3 dots in top right of browser, hover over Bookmarks, and click Show Bookmarks Toolbar OR Ctrl + Shift + B
  • Mac: Ctrl + Command + 1

When you find a citation and click on the  Capture Reference bookmark to import it to Endnote.web, make sure my.endnote.com is selected as the destination for the export from the catalog/database and then click Save To

It will now show up in your My References in Endnote Web

For more information on using endnote.web, check out the Endnote Online at UC San Diego tab of the EndNote X9 Research Guide (this is a guide to the latest version of Endnote)

"Cite While You Write" and Creating a Bibliography with Endnote

The Cite While You Write plugin for Microsoft Word allows you to add the citations you've put into your Endnote Web account into your paper while you are writing it.  It can also automatically format your bibliography. 

This is what the ribbon will look like in Word.

https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/67962/images/endnote.PNG

How to download Cite While You Write:

1. After you've logged into Endnote Web, go to the Downloads tab

2. Follow the instructions to download Cite While You Write

How to use:

1. Click on the Endnote tab

2. When you're ready to insert a citation into your paper, click Insert Citations

3. Enter the author's last name into the search and choose Insert.  It will add the in-text citation as well as the full citation for your bibliography.

Be sure to always double check ALL your citations. 

 

Using Endnote Web to Create a Bibliography:

1. Put the articles you would like to be included in your bibliography in a folder

2. Hover over Format and choose Bibliography

  • References: choose the folder
  • Bibliographic style: APA 6th
  • File format: Choose your file format

        Save, email, or preview and print