Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Statistics/Data Sets/Public Opinion

An introductory guide to doing research in Latin American studies in the UCSD Library

PUBLIC OPINION POLL DATA

Latinobarometro

Annual public opinion survey conducted since 1995 by Latinobarómetro Corporation, a non-profit NGO based in Santiago, Chile. Each survey consists of approximately 19,000 interviews and represents over 400 million inhabitants and, since 2004, covers all 18 Latin American countries. To access the surveys, click on Base de Datos/Data Bank.  Files are available from 1995 to 2016.

For more information about this resource, see page dedicated to it on the Finding Data and Statistics Research Guide

LAPOP Latin American Public Opinion Survey Licensed by UCSD 

Surveys of public perceptions of the role of government, political tolerance, citizen participation, and corruption. Produced at Vanderbilt University. Available in both sPSS and Stata formats.

Latin American Databank at Roper Licensed by UCSD 

Locates acquires and archives public opinion surveys conducted in Latin America. Includes surveys from universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research from 16 countries (most from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela)

[Brazil] Diretoria de Análise de Políticas Públicas (DAPP) 

Diretoria de Análise de Políticas Públicas é um centro de pesquisa social aplicada que tem a missão de promover a inovação para políticas pública. Busca qualificar o debate público por meio da transparência de dados, da participação social e do diálogo na sociedade em rede. Fornece acesso a dados e pesquisas aplicadas.//Directory of Political Analysis is an applied research center with the mission of shaping public policy. Seeks to qualify and debate public policy by making data transparent anddriving social participation and dialog through social networks. Facilitate access to data and applied studies.

DATA AND STATISTICAL SOURCES

There are vast numbers of datasets and databases providing quantitative information on many, many themes.  This is a list of resources all over the (information and geographical) map.  There are additional resources mentioned on thematic pages on this Research Guide, Such as Immigration and Refugees.  Please reach out to me for a research consultation, or also to our Data Librarian, Stephanie Labou!

 

[Brazil] Diretoria de Análise de Políticas Públicas (DAPP) 

Diretoria de Análise de Políticas Públicas é um centro de pesquisa social aplicada que tem a missão de promover a inovação para políticas pública. Busca qualificar o debate público por meio da transparência de dados, da participação social e do diálogo na sociedade em rede. Fornece acesso a dados e pesquisas aplicadas.//Directory of Political Analysis is an applied research center with the mission of shaping public policy. Seeks to qualify and debate public policy by making data transparent anddriving social participation and dialog through social networks. Facilitate access to data and applied studies.

CECHIMEX Statistics on China, Mexico and the US 

Provided by the UNAM, includes statistics on Chinese investment in Latin American and the Caribbean

CEIC Data Licensed by UCSD 

CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:

• China Premium Databases
“The China Premium Database offers over 326000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.”

• Brazil Premium Databases
“The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.”

• Global Database

• Daily Database

[Mexico] Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Geografia 

Business Monitor Online Licensed by UCSD 

Business Monitor International (BMI) is a leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.

Centro Regional de Estrategias Economicas Sostenibles (CREES) Official Statsitics by (Latin American and Caribbean) Country 

Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA) 

Founded in 1975, the Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA), a nonprofit, tax-exempt independent research and information organization, was established to promote the common interests of the hemisphere, raise the visibility of regional affairs and increase the importance of the inter-American relationship, as well as encourage the formulation of rational and constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America. Produces quality research-based literature.

 Cross National Time-Series (CNTS) Licensed by UCSD 

The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive was launched by Arthur S. Banks in the fall of 1968 at the State University of New York at Binghamton. The archive was, in part, the outcome of an effort initiated some years earlier to assemble, in machine readable, longitudinal format, certain of the aggregate data resources of The Statesman's Yearbook, published since 1864. The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945)

Data Citation Index Licensed by UCSD 

Indexes research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.

Data-Planet Licensed by UCSD 

Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguide for more detail.

Economist Intelligence Unit 

Country reports incorporate economic data on currency exchange, industry, and trade; calculate investment risk; and provide information political forecasts and analyses. To access relevant information, hover over "The EIU" tab and select EIU Content to explore by a particular country or industry or Special Reports to look for a report on a given topic.

EMIS Intelligence 

Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance, and news in Asia, Latin America, and Central/Eastern Europe, Middle East/North Africa. Includes full-text news articles, research reports, and

Europa World Plus Licensed by UCSD 

Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact info for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people. Access limited to 1 user at a time. Try again later if refused.

Historical Statistics of the United States 

Excellent online book resource that includes essays and statistical tables on many topics. Useful for any topic in Latin American affecting the United States.

ICPSR Data Archive Licensed by UCSD 

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables. To download data, create a personal account using your ucsd.edu email address while accessing the database from a UC San Diego computer, UCSD-PROTECTED wireless, or the VPN.

Inter-American Development Bank Datasets 

International Historical Statistics 

Ebook bringing together historical statistics from many non-US countries.

IMF Data 

Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators, as well as manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices used by the IMF, national governments, and others. A useful way to orient yourself on this page is to click on the info-graphic to the right, which displays prominent IMF databases and shows what kind of information they provide. From the IMF website homepage.

International Organizations and Statistics 

UC Berkeley Guide to Statistics from international organizations and other bodies.

IPUMS International 

World's largest archive of publicly available census samples. Data coded across countries and over time. Data is available free of charge. Includes most Latin American countries.

LANIC Statistics 

Gateway to dozens of government bodies, agencies, and organizations that produce statistical data from or about Latin America. Often, the most up-to-date statistical information is available only from these web sites.

"Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Sources" [Created by Karen Lindvall-Larson at UCSD] 

Latin American Mortality Database (LAMBdA) 

Provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this resource compiles data from many sources from 1848 to the present

The MacroDataGuide 

The MacroDataGuide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data. While the main distinction is most often drawn between micro and macro data, the term 'meso data' is also sometimes used. Meso data generally refers to data on collective and cooperative actors such as commercial companies, organizations or political parties.

Military Balance 

Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.

Montevideo Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (OXLAD) 

MOxLad contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering 1900 to 2000.

Offstats: Official Statistics on the Web 

Access to free statistical web sites from official sources, arranged by country, region, and subject.

The Pan American Health Organization 

The Pan American Health Organization is a regional division of the World Health Organization (WHO)

Political Database of the Americas 

A project of the Center for Latin American Studies at Georgetown University in collaboration with the Organization of American States. Material includes laws and legal frameworks, demographic trends, chronologies, and lists of state agencies, NGOs, and people.

CEPAL/ECLAC: Comisión Económica para América Latina y el Caribe/Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean Statistics 

Demographic, social, economic, environmental, and related statistics. Includes coverage of Millennium Development Goals (MDG), gender, social cohesion, sustainable development, and information and communication technologies (ICT).

Click on "More" to learn how to access CEPAL's Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean

more...  

UNdata 

Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics 

United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.

UN: Food and Agricultural Organization 

Provides access to reports, publications, news, and statistics with individual and comparative country information on agricultural, livestock, and fish production, water management, food consumption, particular crops and commodities, population and demographics, and agricultural policies

UN Human Development Index 

The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone. It thus provides an alternative way to measure quality of life and "wealth" than GDP. Provides access to Data/Statistics, Literature including _The Annual Development Report, News, and Publications, and Country Profiles.

World Bank Data 

You can also get to World Bank Data and more material, such as Publications by going to the main website (https://www.worldbank.org/) > What we do > Knowledge > Research & Publications

World Development Indicators (WDI) 

The primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources is now augmented with external debt and financial flows statistics. This new merged WDI/GDF product contains over 1200 series dating as far back as 1960.

 

 

Print Sets Statistical Abstracts for Latin America

 

Latin American marketing data and statistics 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor2 West HA751 .L38

Publication Date: London : Euromonitor International, 2003

Anuario estadístico de América Latina = Statistical yearbook for Latin America 

Call Number: Geisel Floor 6 HA755 .A68

Publication Date: Santiago, Chile : United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America, 1973-1984

Anuario estadístico de América Latina y el Caribe = Statistical yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West and Floor 6 HA755 .A68

Publication Date: [Santiago, Chile] : Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1986-

Issues since 1998 available online at: http://www.cepal.org/cgi-bin/getProd.asp?xml=/deype/agrupadores_xml/aes250.xml&xsl=/agrupadores_xml/agrupa_listado.xsl

Search for "Statistical abstract of Latin America" as a keyword in Roger to find various publications by the Committee on Latin American Studies/Latin American Studies Center at UCLA

Statistical abstract of Latin America for .. by prepared by Committee on Latin American Studies, UCLA 

Call Number: Most Recent: Geisel Reference Floor2 West Earlier Issues 6th Floor HA935 .S8

Publication Date: Los Angeles : The University, 1956-2002

Libraries hold vols. 1-38 (1955-2002)

Centroamérica en cifras, 1980-2005 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West HC141 .C38474 2006

Publication Date: San José, Costa Rica : Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, 2005 [i.e. 2006]