LibGuides: Literatures in Spanish & Portuguese: Finding Articles

Databases Focused on Linguistic and Literary Content (Including those specific to Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literature

Cambridge Companions to Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Over two hundred volumes in the Cambridge Companions to Literature series are included in Literature Online (LiON). Each volume contains surveys of the research on various aspects of an individual writer's work.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA is the principal index to scholarly publications in the field of linguistics, including journal articles, monographs, conference papers, dissertations, book reviews, etc.
Latin American Women Writers
- This link opens in a new window
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, who address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.

Regionally and Subject Specific Resources for Iberian and Latin American Literary Content

Dialnet
Indexes primarily journals from Spain but is adding many from Latin America. Many citations link to article abstracts and/or the full texts of articles.
Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) Virtual Library Database
Contains the publications of 159 research organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean that form the membership of CLACSO. Spanish Language.
Americanismo (CEEIB and Redial)
Portal providing access to Latin American resources identified by two scholarly networks dedicated to scientific and academic cooperation between Spain and Latin America: the Consejo Español de Estudios Iberoamericano (CEEIB) and the Red Europea de Documentación de Información (Redial) sobre América Latina. Includes links to online periodicals, unpublished presentations, digital libraries, and bibliographic databases.
Cibera
German collaborative project providing access to library catalogs, internet resource links, periodical databases; newspapers, and wikis with content for Latin America, Spain, and Portugal
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.

For the print version, see:

Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE

Click on More for different ways to use
more...less...
The basic keyword search box on the library of Congress search interface (linked above through Handbook of Latin American Studies) is a useful place to begin a general search.

An excellent feature of the print and online versions of the Handbook are the introductory essays to each subject area. To access these online:

For volumes 50-57, Click on “HLAS Resources,” then “TOCs for Vols. 50-59 and Introductory Essays for Vols. 50-57,” then volume want, then subject, then “introductory essay” link at top

For Volumes 1-49, Click on “Expert Search,” type subject you are searching for the introductory essay on in the “Annotation and HLAS Chapter Introduction keyword/s” box, click “required” – if you wish, can narrow by selecting a volume/date range
Latindex
Sistema regional de información en linea para Revistas científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal; Regional system of online information for scientific magazines of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.

REDALYC
Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal (Web of Scientific Magazines of Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal). Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.
SCIELO
Scientific Electronic Library Online. Provides access to Spanish and Portuguese language articles and journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, and Iberia. Began as a health sciences resource but has expanded significantly beyond this. Allows for article searching by author, title, and subject; and browsing/searching by periodical title and subject, and publisher.
[Central America] Central American Journals Online

More General Databases

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
1975-present. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1100 leading arts and humanities journals. In many cases includes searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. Part of the Web of Science.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
- This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

Literatures in Spanish & Portuguese: Finding Articles

Searching for Articles

Databases Focused on Linguistic and Literary Content (Including those specific to Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literature

Regionally and Subject Specific Resources for Iberian and Latin American Literary Content

More General Databases