Web of Dictionaries: Portuguese (Scroll down to the section of Portuguese dictionary links).
This tab aims to:
Navigating This Guide:
There are many different resources to use to find information on Iberian and Latin American langauges and literatures. For places to search for books, click on the "Finding Print and Electronic Books and Texts" tab. Theses and Dissertations are also featured on the "Finding Print and Electronic Books and Texts" tab. Although they are unpublished book-length works, disseratations are often important sources of original information and their bibliographies can lead you to other sources.
To locate academic journal articles, use the various databases listed on the "Finding Articles" tab.
Assistance with Writing, Citing, and Managing Citations points to resources for writing support, citation manuals, citation management systems, avoiding plagiarism, and more
Beginning your Research project and Finding Initial Sources:
There are three useful principals to remember and apply when searching any kind of electronic search tool (a library catalog, a digital library, a database, the internet, etc.)
There are three useful principles to remember and apply when searching any kind of electronic search tool (a library catalog, a digital library, a database, the internet, etc.)
1. A keyword search in any resource will point you to great initial resources, but you will not find all of the resources you need this way.
2. It is really important that you follow up on your initial searching by:
a) looking at the complete records to identify subject headings or descriptors that you can use to search further
b) carrying out seed research: go to the initial sources and check the footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies to find further resources. It is also helpful to walk around the shelves in the library where you find initial print sources, as other related sources will be shelved in this area.
3. Use reference sources to start your research as well. There are great electronic and print reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and more) that can help you clarify and narrow down your topic and identify great starting resources
.
Excellent Reference Sources/Tools to Begin Your Research Include:
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.
For the print version, see:
Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE
Oxford Bibliographies: the link here is to the Oxford Bibliography of Latin American Studies, but once you are in, you can click on the "Browse By Subject" Box to the upper left to see all of the specific Bibliographies UCSD subscribes to in this suite
UC San Diego has purchased all OHO subject content released through 2020, which includes excellent overviews and critical analysis of literature of various regions, genres, and periods
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: the link here is to the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History, but once you are in, you can click on the radio button "oxford research encyclopedias" to see all of the specific encyclopedias UCSD subscribes to in this suite
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
Includes the full text of contemporary and historical documents, selected articles from newspapers and journals, maps, and statistics focusing on humanities and social sciences topics.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an excellent resources for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. UCSD belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows UCSD patrons to borrow CRL material via interlibrary loan for extended periods.
CRL research Guides on Latin American Studies and Literature point to important CRL resources in Spanish and Portuguese Literature. These include:
Another excellent collection of Reference works are The Cambridge History of ... titles, including but not limited to:
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature
The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature (Online)
Review Sources (including book reviews) are also useful. See the Review Sources Research guide, which points to strategies and places to search for Book Reviews; Film Dance and Theater Reviews; and Research Literature (which points to Annual Reviews and Dissertations as well as particular databases). For example, book reviews can help you:
Infographic that explains Boolean Operators and gives examples of their uses.
Truncation is a search technique that broadens your search to include various word endings. To truncate your search terms, replace the word ending with an asterisk *.
Limits provide database-specific recommendations for narrowing a search. Applying limits will filter out results that don’t meet your search requirements. This will save you time because you won’t need to look through pages of search results that don’t include the information that you need Each database offers different limits. Be sure to check them out to see how they can help you with your search.
For example: In the database, Historical Abstracts, you can filter your search results for peer review, publication date, document type, language, subject, etc.
The image below illustrates how applying limits will help you to narrow
your search results.
It's important to know that databases use subject headings to organize their articles. When you know the right subject headings for your topic, you can search more efficiently. Starting out on a new topic, you won't know the subject terminology. A simple way to find them is to start with a keyword search. When you find an article title that meets your needs, look for the subject headings assigned to that article. In most cases, those subject headings are hyperlinked and will take you to a list of articles with the same subject heading.
Scholarly articles often have extensive bibliographies, also called reference lists or works cited pages. Bibliographies include references to articles, books, and other relevant literature that were published before the article. Some databases provide links to the cited references so that you can look at those articles as well, which might provide more articles for you to use in your paper.
Cited References can help you find articles that are older than the one you are reading.
An Example:
Look at the example to the left. If you found a relevant article from 2003, you could look at the articles in the bibliography to see where your article got the information used to support their main points. These older articles can also be useful to your research, especially if you need to write a literature review.
You can use a similar method to find newer articles, by looking at the articles who have cited your 2003 article in their bibliographies. To find out more about this method, see the tab for Times Cited references.
Some databases, like Web of Science, include times cited references. Think of these as the opposite of a bibliography. Where bibliographies include references that are older than the article, times cited references are newer than the article.
Times Cited references can help you find articles that are more recent than the one you are reading.
An Example:
Look at the example to the left. Let’s say your professor doesn’t let you include references in your paper that are older than 2005. You are finding articles about your topic, but they are all too old. Even the best article about your topic was published in 2003.
Using times cited references, you could see which articles have cited the 2003 article. Chances are you will find one published a more recently that you could use for your paper.
When you find an article that you think will be a good to use, you can take advantage of “related articles” to find similar articles. Databases have different formulas for determining how an article is “related,” but it usually is a combination of same keywords and descriptors.
You can usually find a list of related articles on the results screen of the database.
