Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies: Newspapers

Major Japanese Newspapers: online & print resources at UCSD

 

 

Major Japanese Newspapers :  online & print  resources at UCSD

 

 

 

朝日 (Asahi)

読売 (Yomiuri)

毎日( Mainichi)

日経(Nikkei)

産経 (Sankei)

Online database

Kikuzo : full text since 1879.  Also includes

Aera  since 5/1988  

Shukan Asahi since 4/2000

Chiezo

Historical Photo Archives

 

Yomidas Rekishikan: full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun since 1874. Also includes Daily Yomiuri and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures.

 

Factiva: selected coverage available since 1/1/2002

 

LexisNexis covers Daily Yomiuri since 1/1989

 

 

Factiva: selected coverage available since 5/1/2002

 

Also Mainichi Daily News is covered since 6/30/2008

Nikkei Telecom 21: selected coverage since 4/1975.  Full text coverage to 日本経済新聞 since 4/1981, 日経産業新聞 since 10/1981, 日経流通新聞 since 10/1985 and 日経金融新聞since 10/1987.

 

Also covers the period of 12/1876 – 1958 in PDF format.

 

Nikkei.Com: English language news on financial information from Nikkei.  Provides searchable archives for the last 10 years.

Factiva: selected coverage available since 1997

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Print index

記事総覧

1919-1991 (set)

EastAsia Oversize

A121/A85/A84/1985

 

 

 

 

Print Shukusatsuban

1927- (monthly)

EastAsia

AP95/J2/A83

 

 

1970-  (monthly)

IR/PS

AP95/J2/N54