Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection of Japanese language reference works. Includes language dictionaries, Nipponica encyclopedia, biographical dictionaries, Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan (in English)and more
Bibliography of persons in modern Japanese politics. Provides bibliographies on Japanese who contributed in the field of politics since 1868. Also provides links to the texts of selected titles in the Kindai Digital Library.
Provides over 350 portraits of historically important Japanese persons who contirubuted to build modern Japan. Also provides brief biographies of each individual.
Provides recent data on government officials, business leaders and journalists. The information are based on the articles published in Asahi Shinbun.
Nikkei who's who
Select 人事検索from the main menu. Includes records personnel information about board members, managers, deputy/assistant managers of about 4,600 top businesses nationwide as well as about 20,000 members of leadership teams of central bureaucracy, Government-affiliated agencies, councils and organizations, etc.
現代人名録 includes records on 26,000 contemporary persons in various fields that are linked to related news articles in the newspaper database.
To access to WhoPlus, please go to MagazinePlus and click “データベース検索” button at the top right corner to select WhoPlus. As a database of bio-bibliography of prominent figures active in Japan, WhoPlus contains biographical information on 330,000 people and e-version of several biographical reference dictionaries covering 280,000 people, including Jinbutsu refarensu jiten 人物レファレンス事典, Umi o koeta Nihon jinmei jiten 海を越えた日本人名事典, Jiten kindai Nihon no senkusha 事典近代日本の先駆者, Tsuitō kiji sakuin 追悼記事索引1991-2005, Bijutsu sakuhin refarensu jiten: jinbutsu, shōzōga hen美術作品レファレンス事典:人物・肖像篇, Shashin refarensu jiten: jinbutsu, shōzōga hen写真レファレンス事典人物・肖像篇.