Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japan Specific Sources
Portal Site of Official Statistics of Japan
The gateway to the Japanese statistical data and related information.
Site for the Statistical Bureau and the Director-General for Policy Planning of Japan. It produces and disseminates basic reliable official statistics.
Japan Statistical Yearbook
Provides comprehensive and systematic summary of basic statistical information of Japan covering wide-range of fields including land, poplulation, economy, society, culture and finance.
Statistical Handbook of Japan
Overviews the present-day Japan through statistics. It provides statistical tables, figures, maps, and photographs to describe demographics, economic and social trends, and culture of Japan.
Japan Specific Sources in Print
Consisting of a key-word index (help to locate publications that include the statsistics in question), bibliographical listings of 1,000 statistic works, index for issuing bodies of the government and the list of caption titles of statistical tables included.
Introduces sources to refer to when you are looking for a particular number or statistic. (ex. the number of bankruptcies filed for 2009) It does not provide the date itself.
Introduces major social and economic statistics in Japan by 15 subject areas. Provides an outline of each statistical survey.
This is the most comprehensive statistical yearbook that includes all fields of statistics published by government and private sectors. It includes the information on data sources and survey method of each statistics.
The 1st issue was published in 1927. Presents statistics in easy to understnad format by using many charts and tables. Mainly covers the statistics of society and economic conditions of Japan.
UCSD subscribes to many more statistical sources, please refer to IRCO412 Libguide.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
WDI contains data on the global economy from the World Bank. This database contains statistical data for over 900 indicators and time series data from 1960-present. Data are available in five categories: people, environment, economy, states and market, and global links.
International Financial Statistics
Provides financial statistics from over 200 countries. About 3,200 time series are included, with available data going back to 1948.
Source OECD is an online library of all OECD publications from 1998 onwards. Country coverage includes Japan and a broad range of economic and social subject areas from macroeconomics to trade, education, development and science and innovation.