Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Properties of your Chemical
Along with SciFinder and Reaxys, here are some other good "starting place" databases to find basic information about chemical compounds: molecular weight, CAS Registry numbers and common physical property data. However, they are not as useful if you need physical properties beyond the basics, or information on the synthesis or preparation.
A (free) chemical structure database of over 60 million chemical structures. Search to find property data and spectra, with sources included. Data extracted from other sources, including companies and government agencies, as well as deposited data from registered users.
Single search for CRC's collection of chemical information databases, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, the Combined Chemical Dictionary, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Polymers: A Property Database.
In the search results, the databases are listed as tabs, with a number of entries in each database running across. If you see: No Results Found. Please widen your search and try again, this may only be for the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (the first database listed). Check the other tabs to be certain.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup UC-eLinks, and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the web vpn (https://vpn.ucsd.edu) to get full access to UCSD article content.
Extensive collection of searchable property data extracted from textbooks, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases. You can search by compound and property (heat capacity AND ammonium chloride). Some titles have interactive features like an equation plotter.
Basic property data and key literature references for 11,500 significant chemical compounds. From here, you can also link over to your compound's record in ChemSpider to find more property data.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Property data and numerical MS, UV and IR peaks for 29,000 organic compounds, with references to the handbooks where the spectra can be located. Does not include the actual spectra. Also included in the CHEMnetBASE database.
Databases of information about the bioactivity of small molecules: Compound (validated and non-redundant), Substance, and Bioassay. Compound records are more detailed than the substance records, with properties, drug information, safety and toxicity information, and links to additional databases and websites.
Chemical information database for 32+ million substances and 51+ million reactions. An essential complement to SciFinder for substance and reaction searching. Searchable by chemical names, CAS numbers, structures, reactions, substructures, and by topic/keyword. Extensive source for physical property data, indexing 500 property fields, and each data point includes a journal article or patent reference.