Skip to main content

Chinese Studies: Free databases during COVID19

This introduction is geared towards upper level undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and researchers. English and Chinese language resources are included.

Temporary Access to Chinese E-resources during COVID19

Thanks to the generosity of many vendors in greater China, we are able to provide temporary access to a variety of e-resources during COVID19 shutdown through September 30, 2020 (with some exceptions marked as below)to ease the impact on users who are unable to access physical materials in the library.  This is a growing list of databases as many vendors are still in the process of setting up the access for us. Please make sure to connect through campus VPN. If you have questions, please contact Xi Chen at xichen031@ucsd.edu

Shanghai Library (Expires on July 13, 2020)

Shanghai Library www.cnbksy.com  (expanded access)

Chinese Periodical of Modern China - Literature Collection 中国近代中文期刊全文数据库-文学专题 1872~1949

The Late Qing Full-text Database 晚清期刊全文数据库 1833~1911

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 中文期刊全文数据库 1911~1949

Chinese Serial Full-text Database 《遐迩贯珍》 1853~1856

Dian-shi-zhai Pictorial Full-text Database 《点石斋画报》1884~1898

The North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists 《字林洋行》1850~1951

Sin Wan Pao 《新闻报》1893~1949

The Eastern Times 《时报》1904~1939

The China Press 《大陆报》1911~1949

The Tabloids《小报》1897~1949

The Shanghai Times 《上海泰晤士报》1925~1943

The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury 《大美晚报》1929~1949

The Shanghai Evening Courier《上海晚邮》18691874

Shanghai Courier & China Gazette 《中华快报》18761878

Shanghai Courier 《上海差报》18761878

The Republican Daily《民国日报》1916~1949

Central Daily News《中央日报》1928~1949

Yi Shih Pao《益世报》1915~1949

Ta Kung Pao《大公报》1902~1949/1952

商务印刷馆

The Eastern Miscellany 东方杂志 (1904-1948)

The Eastern Miscellany is an iconic publication of the Commercial Press, which is known as the first journal of the Republican Period. It includes more than 30,0000 articles, 12,000 pictures, 14,000 advertisements and 100 million words.

 

Apabi

China Digital Library 中华数字书苑  www.apabi.com/overseas  (expanded access)

CNKI (expires on 7/31/20)

China Monographic Serials Database 中国学术辑刊全文数据库

China Government Gazettes Database 中国政报公报期刊文献总库

CNKI Journal Translation Project 中国精品学术期刊双语出版数据库

CNKI eBooks(Intl) CNKI电子图书库(海外版)

China Statistical Yearbooks Database 中国经济社会大数据研究平台

China Yearbooks Database 中国年鉴网络出版总库

China Doctoral Dissertations Database 中国博士学位论文全文数据库

China Masters' Theses Database 中国优秀硕士学位论文全文数据库

China Proceedings of  Conference Database 中国重要会议论文全文数据库

China Core Newspapers Database 中国重要报纸全文数据库

China Art Digital Library 中国艺术作品库

Chinese Dictionary & Kangxi Dictionary 汉语大词典和康熙字典

China Legal Knowledge Integrated Database 中国法律知识资源总库/中国法律数字图书馆

The Chinese Communist Party Building Journal Database 中国党建期刊文献总库

Chinese Liberal Arts Magazines Full-text Database 中国精品文艺作品期刊文献库

Chinese Culture Magazines Full-text Database 中国精品文化期刊文献库

Chinese Hospital knowledge Database 中国医院知识仓库

China Scholars Database 学者库

International Proceedings of Conference Full-text Database 国际会议论文全文数据库

China Patent Full-text Database 中国专利全文数据库

Patent Search and Analysis System 专利检索与分析系统

Chinese citation Database 中国引文数据库

Hospital Citation Statistics and Analysis 医院科研产出统计分析与评价数据库

International and Domestic Influence of Chinese Academic Journals Statistics and Analysis Database 中国学术期刊国际国内影响力统计分析数据库

Books Citation Statistics and Analysis 中国图书引证统计分析数据库

Chinese Reference Works Online (CRWO) URL: http://gongjushugb.global.cnki.net/refbook/default.aspx

CNKI Academic Focus URL: http://af.global.cnki.net/stmt

CNKI Academic Reference URL: http://ar.cnki.net/ACADREF

CNKI Journal Translation Project (JTP) URL: http://jtp.global.cnki.net/bilingual 

Coronavirus Special Database (OA) Open access via http://en.gzbd.cnki.net/GZBT/brief/Default.aspx

*register a free individual account to access content. 

Social Sciences Academic Press

Rural China Database 中国乡村研究数据库
Countries, Regions and Global Governance 国别区域与全球治理数据平台  (partial products)
Chinese Historical Local Archives Database 中国地方历史文献数据库 
PRC National History Database 中华人民共和国国史数据库
CPC History Database 中国共产党党史经典文献数据库
CPC Newspaper Archive 红色报刊档案数据库
Jinshi Examination Database 历代进士登科数据库
Zhang Letian Fieldwork Database 张乐天联民村数据库

National Library of China

China Historical Biography Resources 中国历史人物传记资源数据库  *VPN access doesn't work. Log off VPN. User name (UCSB3) passcode (98GkRuma) login. Fifteen concurrent users across UC.

Early Twentieth Century Books in China (1912-1949) 民国图书数据库

China INFOBANK

INFOBANK 中國資訊行 * two concurrent users

News, data, statistics and information on Chinese economics, finance, industry, government, laws and regulations, and foreign trade, etc.

SOSHOO 搜数网 *two concurrent users

Data and statistics on economy, society and development in Greater China Area, particularly mainland China at national and local level, covering over 50 industries.

Ariti 华艺

iRead eBooks 華藝中文電子書  Full texts of academic eBooks published by nearly 300 Taiwan publishers in humanities, social sciences, and business management. 

Chinese Recorder Database 教務雜誌  Full texts of the title (1868-1941), in English language. 

Han Cloud Research Platform 漢雲平台  Offer data text mining tools for ancient Chinese texts.

Taiwan United Digital Publications

 
雄獅美術知識庫 (1971~1996)

臺灣人社百刊 (1967~今)

(中研院)經典人文學刊庫 (1928~今)

傳記文學全文資料庫(1962~今)

近代中國雜誌資料庫 (1977~2005)

臺灣文獻叢刊: 唯一的全文圖像數位版

臺灣文獻叢刊續編: 廣羅《臺灣文獻叢刊》遺珠