Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these specialized encyclopedias as authoritative sources for general information on topics in marine biology. They provide information that you can use to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. For example, it includes authoritative information on marine biology, ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, marine policy, the impact of pollution and climate change, and the use of the oceans for food and energy. This is the Third Edition, revised & published in 2019.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
The Encyclopedia of Biodiversity is a scholarly resource containing over 300 articles by leading international authors. It is a comprehensive survey of biodiversity, across taxonomic groups and ecological regions. Topics covered include agriculture, conservation and restoration, economics, environmental conditions and effects, evolution, extinctions, genetics, geographic and global issues, habitats and ecosystems, human effects and interventions, and population issues.
Facts on File Dictionary of Marine Science
A searchable dictionary of marine science topics. Access is via the EbscoHost platform, with navigation tools on the right side, and easy paging and browsing. Extensive short entries in oceanography, mainly marine biology, ecology, marine habitats and systems. Helpful appendices on topics such as taxonomic classifications, geologic timescales, and marine history.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
This encyclopedia is part of the Encyclopedia of Earth Science Series. It contains comprehensive topical sections, an easy to use search interface, with coverage ranging from aquaculture, atolls, beach erosion, to tides and storm surges.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
This encyclopedia, know as eLS for short, is an easy to search, up-to-date collection of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology and biodiversity of life.
These are only a few of the handbooks and electronic textbooks that are available online for you to use as background or introductory texts. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics.
Marine & Aquatic Science Handbooks
A collection of over 420 online handbooks and textbooks in marine and aquatic sciences. Easy to use and search interface with access to download the whole book, or read online. These books cover a variety of topics such as algae, artificial reefs, fish histology, marine birds, sea turtles, sharks, ecology, and fisheries management.
CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine
This book is described as "the most trusted reference for marine mammal conservation medicine and for marine mammal medical facilities around the world." It was written by around 100 contributors who are recognized globally as leaders in their respective fields. This third edition is viewed as the essential guide for all practitioners involved with marine mammals including veterinarians, technicians, biological researchers, students, managers, keepers, curators, and trainers. The 45 chapters cover a wide variety of topics such as pathology, infectious diseases, anesthesia, surgery, husbandry, health assessment, species-specific medicine, and global health concerns such as strandings, oil spills, and entanglements of marine mammals. The book guides the reader through the veterinary care of cetaceans, pinnipeds, manatees, sea otters, and polar bears.
Deep Sea Fishes: Biology, Diversity, Ecology and Fisheries
Book publishers' note: "Synthesising the very latest research and discoveries, this is a comprehensive and much-needed account of deep-sea fishes. Priede examines all aspects of this incredibly diverse group of animals, reviewing almost 3,500 species and covering deep-sea fish evolution, physiology and ecology as well as charting the history of their discovery from the eighteenth century to the present day. Providing a global account of both pelagic and demersal species, the book ultimately considers the effect of the growing deep-sea fishing industry on sustainability. Copiously illustrated with explanations of the deep-sea environment, drawings of fishes and information on how they adapt to the deep, this is an essential resource for biologists, conservationists, fishery managers and anyone interested in marine evolution and natural history
Marine Protected Areas for Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises: A World Handbook for Cetacean Habitat Conservation and Planning
This second edition covers various approaches to protecting cetacean habitats. Included are sections on the history of marine protected areas, comparisons between ocean sanctuaries, marine reserves and parks; Red list assessment of cetacean species, subspecies and subpopulations; planning effective protected areas; the design, establishment and management of protected areas for cetaceans; checklist for creating better MPAs and PAs; and Habitat protection for cetaceans around the world.
Handbook of Marine Natural Products
This key handbook in the field of marine natural products is available to us via SpringerLink, and is edited by Dr. William Gerwick. The 2 volumes are divided into several parts, and cover such areas as chemistry of marine algae & cyanobacteria, natural product synthesis, antifouling, enzyme inhibitors, and marine toxins.