Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these specialized encyclopedias as authoritative sources for general information on topics in geology, geophysics, and geochemistry. They provide information that you can use to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics.
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry
This encyclopedia's subtitle describes it as "a comprehensive reference source on the chemistry of the earth". It is current, published in 2020, and the Editor states that it provides "Clear concise summaries of all topics in geochemistry". There are many entries, arranged alphabetically, in this encyclopedia, and the sections were written by an international team of researchers in the field.
Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics
This encyclopedia's Editor describes it as a "Vital resource for Geophysics students and professionals." It has many entries, arranged in alphabetical order, and these sections are written by over 340 leading authorities in the field.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography. For example, it includes authoritative information on ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, geology, geosciences, marine chemistry, and paleoceanography.
Treatise on Geochemistry
This is a comprehensive, 15 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as meteorites & cosmochemical processes, the atmosphere, marine geochemistry, biogeochemistry, environmental and organic geochemistry.
Treatise on Geophysics
This is a comprehensive, 11 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, geodesy, mantle and core dynamics, evolution of the Earth, and physics of terrestrial planets and moons.
These are only a few of the handbooks that are available online for you to use as background or introductory texts. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics.
Introduction to Geochemistry: Principles and Applications
This book emphasizes the quantitative aspects of geochemistry. There are 12 chapters divided into 4 parts: crystal chemistry, chemical reactions, isotope geochemistry, and the "Earth Supersystem", an overview of the origin and evolution of the solid Earth and atmosphere & hydrosphere.
Environmental Geochemistry: Site Characterization, Data Analysis and Case Histories
This second edition, 2018, is described as reviewing "the role of geochemistry in the environment and details state-of-the-art applications of these principles in the field, specifically in pollution and remediation situations. Chapters cover both philosophy and procedures, as well as applications, in an array of issues in environmental geochemistry including health problems related to environment pollution, waste disposal and data base management." Also included are illustrations of specific case histories of site characterization and remediation of brownfield sites.
The Solid Earth: an Introduction to Global Geophysics
This book is for anyone enrolled in introductory geophysics courses who have a general background in the physical sciences. It can also be used as a reference book for graduate students and other researchers in the geological and geophysical sciences. This online version of the second edition has been revised to reflect the most recent advances in geophysical research.
This textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to both radiogenic and stable isotope techniques. Written by one of the world's most respected geochemists (Claude J. Allegre), this full color textbook will be invaluable for all undergraduate and graduate courses on the topic, and is an excellent reference text for scientists.