Skip to main content
Locating Original Newspapers in Special Collections:
To find original newspapers in Special Collections, limit your search to the location "Special Collections" in Roger (advanced search page). E.g., Try "newspapers and california" as search terms (substituting the state or locale of interest to you). Notice, you will find reference works ABOUT newspapers as well as the actual newspapers. Don't discount these reference sources outright, they may provide useful context for your research, or alert you to the existence of useful newspapers beyond UCSD.
If these don't work for you, Ask A Librarian for help!
Selected Historical Newspaper Databases:
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Nearly 300 Spanish-language newspapers from 13 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
San Diego Union Tribune
Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, microfilm is available.
San Diego Union (1871-present; before 1922 varying names; after 1990 San Diego Union Tribune)
Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of
Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)
Los Angeles Times (Historical) . (1881-1986).
Full text, page and article images.
Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
Search and view full text but no page images.
Also available on microfilm (1881-present)
SSH Microfilm XF 81
American's Historical Newspapers
Collection of 700 English-language papers from cities 24 states east of the Mississippi. Most of them are before 1860. Also includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, and California Historical Newspapers, 1752-1922. Coverage from a few issues to many years. Based on the earlier microfilm series, Early American Newspapers
Primary Source Websites
Early California Population Project
The Early California Population Project (ECPP) provides public access to all the information contained in California's historic mission registers, records that are of unique and vital importance to the study of California, the American Southwest, and colonial America. Within the baptism, marriage, and burial records of each of the California missions sits an extraordinary wealth of unique information on the Indians, soldiers, and settlers of Alta California from 1769 - 1850.
California as I Saw It: First Person Narratives of California's Early Years, 1849-1900
Part of Library of Congress "American Memory" project, consists of the full texts and illustrations of 190 works documenting the formative era of California's history through eyewitness accounts.
More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California.
Regional Oral History Office - UC Berkeley Bancroft Library
As a division of The Bancroft Library, the Regional Oral History Office preserves the history of the San Francisco Bay Area, California, and the Western United States. By conducting carefully researched, tape-recorded, and transcribed interviews, ROHO creates archival oral histories intended for the widest possible use.
Finding Primary Sources Guide
Links to hundreds of websites and subscription databases for digitized primary sources. Arranged by general subject area. More than one subject area may be appropriate for your topic, so browse the tabs at the top. For example, for collections of primary sources documenting American Indian History, try Ethnic Studies -> Native Americans, as well as the History tab.