Skip to main content
Selected Research Databases
Below is a list on some databases that will be useful for your research. Use these databases to find scholarly research materials, newspaper and magazine articles, and online resources for your research. If the following databases do not work well for your topic, go to the Libraries' home page -> Research Tools -> Subjects A-Z to find a list of research databases and other tools in your subject area. If you are still having a hard time, contact a Ask A Librarian for help.
America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Social Services Abstracts
Identifies articles about community development, family and social welfare, social work, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, etc. Includes web resources, too.
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
Roger: The UC San Diego Library Catalog
Search Roger to find books, journals, maps, magazines, newspapers, electronic resources, films, and other materials to support your research.