LibGuides: ETHN 155: US Militarism: Finding Articles and Scholarly Materials

Online Databases: General and Multi-disciplinary

Use databases to find articles that have been published in peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research.

Having trouble accessing a database?
You will need to use a computer here on campus or have your computer configured for off-campus access to search all of the databases below . You will also need to be using a UCSD networked computer to take advantage of UC-eLinks.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
Historical Abstracts
1954-present. An international database for research on the history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, and law. Global, multilingual scope.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.

Online Databases - Special Focus

Use databases to find articles that have been published in peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. The UCSD Libraries subscribes to many more databases.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.

Black Studies Center
Includes full text journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.

Chicano Database
Index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than
1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Coverage is mostly 1980s to present, though some as far back as 1960s. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts (1984-present). Former name: Women's Resources International.

Helpful Hint

Some databases will include direct links to full text, but don't be discouraged if they don't. Look for the orange UC-eLinks button in the lists of results. It opens a new window that locates the articles either online or in print. (Not all articles exist online.)