LibGuides: Residents: Getting Started at UC San Diego: Find Drug Resources

Online Resources & Books

The Biomedical library's most popular resources for Drug Information

The following list includes the key pharmacy-specific database to find the original literature and a wealth of synthesized resources to help you quickly find the information you need, from finding background information about a drug (e.g. pharmacology, pharmacokinetics) to information for treating patients (e.g. dosing, interactions).

Clinical Pharmacology
This database has comprehensive coverage of marketed US drugs and some investigational agents. It also contains a drug identification tool, drug interaction checker, patient handouts, and an ... For more info - see the info button above. external linkage to the Natural Medicines Database which provides extensive information on herbals and nutraceuticals. Terminology is consistent throughout the database, allowing comprehensive searches of various topics such as drugs that cause specific adverse reactions, all drugs used for certain indications, etc. The database has references to the primary literature.

Facts and Comparisons
This is a searchable compilation of drug reference books. It is notably useful for its comparison charts of similar drugs and drug products. It covers US drugs almost exclusively and has fewer references to the primary literature than the other drug databases. It contains a very good drug-drug interactions database and a separate drug-herb interactions database. For more details, see the info button above.
more...less...
It also has a drug identification tool, patient handouts, and the Review of Natural Products that contains extensive, well-referenced discussions of herbals and nutraceuticals.

Meyler’s Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions
This database contains extensive, well-referenced electronic books on adverse reactions reported on drugs and drug classes. Search for drug names to find case reports of adverse effects, or search for adverse effects to find lists of drugs that have been associated with that effect.
Micromedex
This is a collection of databases with "Drugdex" as the key one. A search is done across all databases and is likely to find information in several of the databases. It has somewhat more extensive referencing than other major databases, with some information on investigational and non-US drugs as does Martindale ... For more information - see the info button above. (a European drug database) which is included in the Micromedex package. The package also contains a drug identification tool ("Identidex"), a drug interaction checker, patient handouts, summary drug documents and three teratology databases.
NatMed Pro
A comprehensive database of natural products, herbals and nutraceuticals, including proprietary combinations on the market. It is particularly useful for identifying the components of multiple-ingredient products.

Ask a Librarian

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.