Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Resources: Immigration/Border Studies
Congressional Budget Office: Immigration
Non-partisan reports on immigration issues, prepared for the U.S. Congress.
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
DHS responsibilities include border security, citizenship services, and immigration enforcement.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Presents security-related documents from a variety of federal government agencies and other organizations.
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
A comprehensive database of historical and current documents on immigration law and policy, including hearings, reports, decisions, and several immigration-related acts and legislative histories. (part of the HeinOnline suite of databases)
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes bills, laws and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, Congressional Record, and Congressional Research Service Reports.
Government Studies on Immigration
Provides access to a large number of immigration reports (2002- ) from the Congressional Research Service, Government Accountability Office, and the Department of Homeland Security.
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
USCIS oversees lawful immigration to the United States.
U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP)
CBP works to secure the U.S. border, facilitate lawful international trade and travel, and enforce immigration and drug laws.
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)
ICE has investigative and enforcement responsibilities for federal immigration laws, customs laws, and air security laws.
Environmental & Health Issues
International Boundary and Water Commission, United States and Mexico
IBWC is tasked with finding binational solutions to issues that arise during the application of United States-Mexico treaties regarding boundary demarcation, national ownership of waters, sanitation, water quality, and flood control in the border region.
U.S.-Mexico Border 2020 Program
An EPA program emphasizing regional, bottom-up approaches for decision making, priority setting, and project implementation to address the environmental and public health problems in the border region.
U.S.-Mexico Border Environmental Health Work Group
EHWG serves as the main conduit for addressing bi-national environmental health concerns, such as increases in disease rates along the US-Mexico border. See especially the "Projects and Publications" link. (Archived content.)
United States-Mexico Border Health Commission
Binational health commission established in 2000, whose mission is to provide international leadership to optimize health and quality of life along the U.S.-México border. (archived websites available via Internet Archive)
Census data This link opens in a new window
Primary census data tool. Use AFF to find demographic data on ancestry, foreign-born population, and migration patterns.
Census Data by Subject
Points to census data resources, arranged alphabetically by subject.
DHS Immigration Data & Statistics
Statistical reports and publications from the Department of Homeland Security. Includes access to the annual Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (1996- ).
ICE Enforcement and Removal Operations Report
Statistics on individuals removed from the U.S.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, ProQuest
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the U.S. Print only, 2013- . (Replaces the Census Bureau publication, which are available online
TRAC Immigration Tools
Data obtained from federal agencies through Freedom of Information Act requests and directly from federal courts. Arrests, detentions, removals, court proceedings, and more.
Unaccompanied Children Statistics
Daily, monthly, and annual statistics.
500,000 Kids, 30 Million Hours: Trump’s Vast Expansion of Child Detention
Article includes link to dataset
obtained from U.S. Customs & Border Protection (CBP).
Alien Incarceration Reports
These reports are not uniformly posted to a single government website, so we're capturing them here to provide easier access.