It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject encyclopedias are much more than a way of picking up quick facts. Typically put together by scholars and other experts in the field, they can provide an overview of a field or fill in topics for unfamiliar areas of research. The articles usually also include a list of important books and articles. Not a substitute for research but a quick way of getting you started.
Although we have no comprehensive online encyclopedias that focus on the entire field of Communication, the listings below include the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, which has more than 100 articles on media lone. Several take on different areas of Communication. And we do have three 21st century encyclopedias, existing only in print, covering the broad scope of the discipline. These are in the SSHL Reference collection (main floor of Geisel Library)
2015/2nd edition. Over 3,800 articles spread over broad subject areas from Adolescence and Youth to Urban Studies; 100 separate articles under Media alone. There is also a 26 vol. print edition in Geisel Reference collection, main floor of Geisel Library, H41 .I58 2001
All dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, Internet; US & international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues & court cases; ownership & economics. Published 2009 under direction of Christopher Sterling. Print version is 6 volumes
Includes more than 1,000 essays from over 250 contributors; on specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television, quiz show scandal. From the Museum of Broadcast Communications
Its 150 entries bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, communications and performance studies in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion.
Contains 474 profiles on marketing campaigns that appeared between the late 1990s and 2005. Volume 1, available only in print, covers most of the 20th century. Located in the SSHL Reference collection, main floor of Geisel Library, HF5837 .E53 2000.