Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AdViews This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. A project of the Duke University Library. Requires iTunes for viewing video.
American History in Video
Coverage of historical events through documentaries, commercial and government newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage. When finished will include 1200 titles, 2000 hours of video.
Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound. More than 150 collections and growing.
Pathé News was a producer of newsreels, cinemagazines, and documentaries from 1910 until 1976 in the United Kingdom. The Pathé News archive is known today as "British Pathé". Its collection of news film and movies includes 3,500 hours of filmed history!
C-SPAN Video Library
Broadcasts of various federal government events such as press conferences, bill signing ceremonies, political meetings, congressional hearings and debates. 160,000 hours of programming since 1987. Also links to Booknotes and Book TV
Films commissioned by the U.S. Government to support the war effort during World War II: by John Ford, William Wyler, John Huston, and Frank Capra's 8-part series Why We Fight. Downloadable MPG files.
Deep Dish TV: Video Archive
Began in the late 1980s as a network, linking independent producers, programmers, community-based activists and viewers who support movements for social change and economic justice. Nearly 200 older documentaries available from the Internet Archive
Ethnographic Video Online
Covers every region of the world, featuring the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage. 750 hours and 1000 films when complete
Internet Archive: Moving Image
Movies from the Prelinger Archive showing American everyday life, culture, industry, and institutions in the 20thC. Downloadable MPEG-2
Living Room Candidate
See video of presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to 2008. More than 300 digitized commercials are presented, along with analysis, historical background, and results from each election.
Browse archives for episodes by PBS program or by topics such as culture and science. American Experience, Frontline, Nova, Great Performances, Masterpiece, Julia Child, much more
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
1968-present. Browse or search summaries of evening network news programs for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Includes commercials as well as news items. Streaming video for CNN and NBC only.
World History in Video
Will include streaming video of more than 1750 documentaries covering all eras of human history: Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Complements American History in Video
Public Domain Image
It's a digital vault of 80,000 video clips, photos, sound recordings, and 3-D models, all embeddable and freely available to anyone who wants to reuse copyright-free media. They're impeccably organized, labeled, and tagged, so you can find just the type of clip or image you're looking for.
American Archive Of Public Broadcasting
The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB), a collaboration between the Library of Congress, WGBH Boston and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting provides the public with access to a collection of American public radio and television audio and visual materials dating back to the 1950s. The records will provide information about which public media video and audio materials have been digitized and preserved in the AAPB, indicate which video and audio files are available for research on location at WGBH and the Library of Congress, and highlight the participating stations. Contributing stations’ histories, information about significant productions and resources for participating organizations will be available online.
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
AD*Access This link opens in a new window
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II
Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound. More than 150 collections and growing
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture
1935 - 1945 US Government Images
Today housed at the Library of Congress, the archive primarily depicts life in America during the Great Depression and World War II. Provided by Yale University, this site has170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).
Charles Cushman Photo Collection --
American Life 1938-1969. Features 14,500 color images of life in America between 1938 and 1969. The archives can be accessed by year, location, subject, and keyword.
Dime Novels & Penny Dreadfuls
Contains full text of ten of the most popular dime novel series, images of around 2700 covers, and a historic timeline. Searchable by title and feature and images are browseable.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Includes over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States
Gender Ads Project
Site dedicated to understanding the contexts of sexism, gender, women, men, violence, racism, and social change within the confines of print advertising
Internet Archive: The Commons
The Internet Archive processed more than 2 million volumes from its digital archive, compiling more than 14 million high resolution images spanning nearly every topic imaginable. Each image includes detailed descriptions, including the subject tags of the book it came from and the text immediately surrounding it on the page. The latter is especially powerful, as it allows to keyword search 500 years of images, instantly accessing particular topics or themes.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
Explores the relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising. Presents images and information on about 600 health related ads from 1910 to the 1950s.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
More than 180,000 of the items in the New York Public Library Digital Collections are in the public domain.
Outdoor Advertising Association of America Creative Library
Collection of images of billboards and other outdoor advertising from 1995 to 2003. Search by advertiser, product category or keyword.
Public Domain Image
It's a digital vault of 80,000 video clips, photos, sound recordings, and 3-D models, all embeddable and freely available to anyone who wants to reuse copyright-free images. They're impeccably organized, labeled, and tagged, so you can find just the type of clip or image you're looking for.
September 11 News.com
Permanent Internet archive of news coverage of the events of September 11, 2001
Timepix (the Time and Life picture collection)
Photographs from the archives of Time-Life publications and related magazines. Search by keyword among millions of images of the 20th century. Individual registration is required, but there is no charge.
Vintage Ad Browser
Vintage graphic ads from the late 19th century to the present: browse through categories from alcohol, guns and tobacco to computers, perfume and propaganda