A few databases focus specifically on the discipline called Communication. But the interests of scholars in this field go into so many different areas you should also look at the rest of this page. Further down are databases that cover many disciplines at one time. The column on the right includes databases for other subject disciplines that also interest Communication scholars. Let us know if we've left anything out.
NOTE: Besides journal articles, many of these databases also include other research materials such as dissertations and conference proceedings.
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
ComAbstracts Lists articles in 130 communication journals. Starting dates vary, usually from first issue. Produced by Communication Institute for Online Scholarship; site includes other resources. http://www.cios.org/www/absrch.htm
Always the best starting point, indexes and abstracts articles in every field from more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Not only social sciences and humanites, but also science, technology, business and popular magazines. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
1665-2000. Full text of 1.4 million articles from 450 North American and European journals in arts, humanities, social sciences. 20 percent non-English. Also try the much larger Periodicals Index Online
1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
1990-present. Access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
LexisNexis Academic Key site [UCSD Only] Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Former name: Academic Universe.[Full Description]
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Preferences option for UC-eLinks or Google may ask you to pay for resources UCSD has already purchased.
1861-present. Database of citations to doctoral dissertations & master's theses from 1,000+ universities. Full-text of most UC dissertations published 1996 and later. Others can usually be obtained on Interlibrary Loan
Finding Articles--Specific Subjects
These concentrate on specific disciplines and fields of study, usually covering a larger number of publications than more general databases. They include Anthropology, Business, Education, Ethnic & Gender Studies, Film, History, Information Science, Law & Public Policy, Psychology, Sociology. Have we left anything out?
International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. For the rest of the world use Historical Abstracts
For anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, much more
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.
Some non-journal sources are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Ethnic NewsWatch [UCSD Only] 1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.[Full Description]
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of literatures and folklore. IAlso important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890-present.