Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Societies for Communication Scholars
A few of the more important associations aimed specifically at scholars in the discipline of Communication. For a comprehensive list, check the guide to Associations & Organizations for Communication Studies developed by the American Library Association's Commitee for Electronic Resources in Communication studies.
AEJMC: Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
International organization of more than 3,300 journalism/mass communication faculty, students, administrators, and professionals.
American Communication Association
Organization promotes academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication. Site includes links to resources in communication studies and communication law.
CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
Non-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education. Site includes a variety of resources for research and professional development. Some are limited to UCSD students.
International Communication Association
An international association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
National Communication Association
The oldest and largest national organization to promote communication scholarship and education and works to enhance the research, teaching, and service produced by its members on topics of both intellectual and social significance
Organizations of Interest to Communication
There are hundreds of organizations out there which explore, analyze, critique and promote issues related to Communication. Just a few are listed below. You can find many more by searching the Gale Directory Library, which includes the comprehensive Encyclopedia of Associations .
Center for Media and Public Affairs
A nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of the news and entertainment media, to provide an empirical basis for ongoing debates over media fairness and impact through well-documented studies of media content
Committee to Protect Journalists
An independent, nonprofit organization founded 1981 to promote press freedom worldwide, CPJ lists abuses against the press and acts on behalf of imprisoned and threatened journalists
CPSR: Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
A public-interest alliance of computer scientists and others concerned about the impact of computer technology on society
EFF: Electronic Frontier Foundation
A non-profit, non-partisan organization working in the public interest to protect fundamental civil liberties, including privacy and freedom of expression, in the arena of computers and the Internet
European Audiovisual Observatory
Set up in 1992 to promote information on the film and television industry in Europe. Reports and articles on all aspects of the industry.
FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
A national media watch group, which has been offering and documenting criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986, bringing a perspective from the left.
Newspaper Association of America
The nonprofit organization representing the $55 billion newspaper industry. NAA members account for nearly 90 percent of the daily circulation in the United States. Site includes resources for journalists and researchers.
Privacy Rights Clearinghouse
Nonprofit consumer information and advocacy program aimed at raising consumer consciousness of impact of information technology on privacy.
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
Nonprofit organization providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970. News on legal actions involving freedom of the press, guides for accessing legal and public records, medical privacy, photographers and privacy rights, gag orders, much more
Reporters Without Borders
An organization that fights for press freedom and denounces violations of human rights all over the world. Provides news & alerts on various issues concerning freedom of the press via over 100 correspondents from the all over the world.
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
An independent opinion research group, sponsored by The Pew Charitable Trusts, that studies public attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Includes reports and downloadable survey datasets