LibGuides: Problem-based Learning & Finding the Evidence: Case 8: Layla Shaheen

Books

Hacker and Moore's Essentials of Obstetrics and Gynecology by Neville F. Hacker; et. al.
Publication Date: 2016
From normal lab values in pregnancy to dealing with reproductive health issues.
Ultrasound Imaging in Reproductive Medicine by Laurel A. Stadtmauer & Ilan Tur-Kaspa
Publication Date: 2019
It covers emerging technologies possible with the improvement in ultrasound equipment. 3-D monitoring of ovarian follicles, bidirectional vibrant color and Doppler, and improved 3-D and 4-D imaging of reproductive structures are discussed.
Guide for Genetic Consultation by Birgit Zirn & Karl Mehnert
Publication Date: 2019
This book has some great graphics that will be helpful for your write ups. Check their chapters on Cytogenetics for Trisomy 21 or on Prenatal Diagnosis.
Practical Obstetrics and Gynaecology Handbook for O&G Clinicians and General Practitioners by Thiam Chye Tan, et al
Publication Date: 2014
Short chapters - many in table format on a variety of topics including screening for chromosomal defects (chapter 27) with sensitivity of test to catch trisomy. It also has lab values for pregnancy.
Williams Obstetrics by F. Cunningham, et. al.
Publication Date: 2018
A key text for OB/GYN and found in Access Medicine. Maybe the chapter on abortion will help your look up.

Roger Search Box

Layla Shaheen -- An Unexpected Diagnosis

Dn't forget to use the Drug Info Resources tab for some good databases to use when your question involves medications.

Resources for this Case

Textbooks (look left)

Reminder: Last Year's Lectures

Does Searching PubMed Always have to be so Hard? No!

Newborn Screening Information Resources

National Organizations Resources

The Point of Care Tools (Medscape, Micromedex, Up to Date)

Patient Information Resources

Reminder - Last Year's ERM Lecture

Reminder about a Previous Lecture

One of last year's ERM lectures will be helpful for the case this week - the one on maternal adaptations to pregnancy. I think it was #31.

Cancer & Genetic Resources

National Cancer Institute
Has disease overview and treatment statements for both patients and physicians .
Check out their PDQ info on Ovarian cancer to see staging & prognosis info.
American Cancer Society
Primary focus is on the patient and their caregivers. Offers a nationwide network of local support groups. Not as vital for health professional level information, but does has nice statistics collection - look for their Cancer Facts & Figures publication.

Does PubMed Always have to be a Problem to Search

Does Searching PubMed Always have to be so Hard?

The answer is no! There are some great behind the scenes work happening on a PubMed search to help you out. For this week, you might wonder, can I just type in something like, non-obstetric surgery during pregnancy, and get some good stuff? And the answer to this is, yes, you can. With PubMed's new interface and default Best Match sort order, you will find some very relevant articles.

There are some helpful articles in PubMed that address some of this week's topics.

PubMed
Covers over 5,600 journals in the biomedical and health sciences, and has over 26 million citations with an archive of articles going back to the late 1940's. See UC San Diego Libraries PubMed page for more details.

Newborn Screening Resources

California Newborn Screening Program
(From CA.gov) Questions about what is screened or what should be screened? A wealth of information is available for both health professionals and patients including what disorders are detectable by newborn screening.
Newborn Screening - All State Requirements
HRSA Recommended Uniform Screening Panel
Not state specific but recommendations - it has tables of the tests and what type of condition it screens for - e.g., hemoglobin disorders or amino acid disorders.

Synthesized Resources & Point of Care Tools

Medscape
For this case, I like the information they have on abortion - describing the medical process and the surgical process. Create your free account.
Up to Date
A great resource you all frequently use. See what you can get with pregnancy AND surgery.
Micromedex
A drug database that provides information on diseases too.

Legal Info Tip

Tips for Finding the Legal Information

There are actually resources for pulling out the legal information on whichever topic you want to explore. There are databases to which we subscribe, and some of your often used tools (Google & Google Scholar) have some great tricks to get to that information. A word of caution when using the internet - be sure to know who is giving you the information. They may have a biased perspective that skews the information they provide.

Westlaw Campus Research
Find bull text of federal and state court cases, laws & regulations, law reviews, legal periodicals and encyclopedias.

Google Scholar
Be sure to switch the option from "articles" to "case law" and you can even specify california law.
Google
Because abortion can be a controversial topic, one needs to really consider the resources used when doing a Google search. Bias and personal/institutional agendas can get in the way of facts. Be sure you check out who is giving you info. For legal stuff, you may see in your results information from FindLaw.com. This is a free version of the database Westlaw above. It should be relatively bias & agenda free. You can limit to its results by adding site:findlaw.com .

MedlinePlus: Information Tool for Patients

MedlinePlus is a great place to find consumer-friendly materials along with directories, a dictionary & encyclopedia, and more. Take a look and see what you find.