LibGuides: Chemical Engineering (older version): Lab Safety

Starting Places for Chemical Safety Resources

Chemwatch GoldFFX
The primary SDS source at UC San Diego. Access to the Chemwatch SDS library. Can select from several report options: Chemwatch-written (Gold), vendor-supplied, and mini one-page SDSs.
Knovel
More than 400 handbooks, databases, and encyclopedias on safety and industrial hygiene, including property data resources like Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards (8th ed., 2017), Patty's Industrial Hygiene (7th ed., 2022), Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens (7th ed., 2017), Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (12th ed., 2012), Comprehensive Toxicology (2nd ed., 2010), Patty's Toxicology (6th ed., 2011), and the AIChE Center for Chemical Process Safety series. Browse or search an individual title, or search for your compound and property across the entire Knovel collection.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students (1st edition)
Undergraduate textbook on chemical laboratory safety. Topics: emergency response; recognizing, understanding and communicating about hazards; risk assessment; minimizing, controlling and managing hazards; and chemical management.
- On the ProQuest Ebook Central platform, you can "print to PDF" up to 110 pages in a 24-hour period.
- Print copies also available.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students (2nd edition)
Updated edition, which aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 "Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor's Degree Programs"
SciFinder-n
One of our core resources for searching the chemical literature. You can search by substance and look at the biological properties (including LD50) with associated journal article or patent references, or search the references and limit results to "biological activity." SciFinder requires a one-time registration.
Reaxys
One of our core resources for searching the chemical literature. From the substance record, look at the Bioactivity/Ecotoxicology section to see effects, species, and additional data like method, exposure, and further details. The Pharmacological Data in the substance record won't give more than "bioactivities present," so you may want to run a keyword search and look at the resulting documents instead. You may need to refer to the reference journal article for more information. Some substances may actually linkout to a PubChem record, with links to toxicology databases and journal references.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
General industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes. Presents key information: NIOSH recommended exposure limits, OSHA permissible exposure limits, and NIOSH immediately dangerous to life and health values (IDLH)--with linkouts to these databases. Also physical properties, personal protection recommendations, incompatibilities and reactivities, exposure routes, symptoms and more.
CHEMnetBASE
Access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (Chapter 10 - Health and Safety Information tables) and the Combined Chemical Dictionary (quick search for chemical properties, including some hazards/toxicity information).

Safety Videos from UCSD

A list of safety videos is available on the Blink safety portal. Some were produced by Dr. Haim Weizman in the Department of Chemisty and Biochemistry, including A Day in the Lab (A PI's Perspective). The other videos were produced elsewhere.

Chemical Engineering (older version): Lab Safety

Starting Places for Chemical Safety Resources

Safety Videos from UCSD

More Safety Videos