LibGuides: Philosophy: Home

General Library Info

Library Hours
Hours may change during Week 10 and Finals week of each quarter.
My Library Account
Set up My Library Account to use all library services.
Ask a Librarian
UC San Diego librarians are available to help with your research needs. Chat 24/7 with a librarian now!
Course Reserves
Find what your instructor has put on Reserve.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan is a way to request books and articles that are not available at UC San Diego.

Remote Access and Library Support

This guide is designed to help you start your Library research. Please feel free to email me if you get stuck, have additional research questions, would like to set up an appointment, or have other sources to include in the guide.

Try UC Library Search, our new online catalog, article search, and ILL system in one!

More about UC San Diego Library services during the Covid-19 campus response.

Off-Campus Access to Journals, Ebooks, and Databases: Use AnyConnect VPN.

When logging in, select the 2 Step Secured - althruucsd option (click to see an example)
Duo two-step login also required

Key Resources

Resources with a blue lock mean that you need to have your off-campus computer configured for access.

Philosopher's Index
This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The online, expanded and updated version of the 1998 print edition. Contains subject guides, links to new articles and updates, and full text search capability.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is a dynamic resource and entries are being constantly added and revised. It is searchable by topic, and essays are written by experts in the field.

JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Project Muse
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Electronic Enlightenment
Searchable and browsable database with access to correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 17th-19th centuries, and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. With 79,254 letters and documents and 10,232 correspondents (as of Winter 2018–2019) EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.

Contact Info

Michael Smith (UCSD)

Email Me

Contact:

9500 Gilman Drive #0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

858-534-1248

Subjects: Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Government Information, Maps, Philosophy, Religion

Collection Profile

Our collections are tailored to meet the current and ongoing research and instructional needs of faculty and students in the Department of Philosophy. These areas include the history of philosophy, philosophy of science, ethics, metaphysics and epistemology, with particular emphasis on the Greek and Classical traditions, the Early Modern period, German idealism and theory, and the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. Our collections are also quite interdisciplinary as they overlap into areas represented by both UCSD's Science Studies Program and the Cognitive Science Program.