LibGuides: Philosophy: Find Articles

Getting Full Text Articles

The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:

An HTML link
PDF link
Link to Get it at UC

The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.

Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.

Article Databases & Indexes

Philosopher's Index
The premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources. There are author-written abstracts for most records. The global database contains more than 680,000 records with source publications from 139 countries in 37 languages. The primary languages are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Primary coverage spans from 1940 to present with additional records dating back to 1893.
PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers.
PhilSci Archive
A free electronic archive for preprints of articles and monographs in the philosophy of science, with 8,000+ entries. Sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association and the Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Pittsburgh.
__________________________________________

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc.
Go to Scholar--> Settings--> Library Links option to setup UC-eLinks.

JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
__________________________________________
ATLA Religion Database
The premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered. Content is selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Coverage 1949-present.
ATLASerials, Religion Collection
A full-text collection of 360+ religion and theology journals selected by leading scholars in the field. Dates of coverage vary; some as far back as 1881. Search by keywords or browse journals by issue.
Book Review Digest Plus
1983-present. This database contains book reviews for current fiction and non-fiction from 5,000+ indexed journals, with full-text reviews 1,400+ periodicals and over 2 million review citations. Updated weekly online with more than 118,000 reviews added each year.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. UCSD is a member. Contains 775+ digital titles under keyword "philosophy". Many collections also available via ILL.

Communication Abstracts
NOTE: Institution-wide access to this resource ends on December 31, 2025. 1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
Bioethics Research Library
This database contains journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics covering 1974-2009 (with some later additions). To identify current materials, see recommended online bioethics resources on this website. From the Bioethics Research Library, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University. Expanded version of Bibliography of Bioethics.

Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text for hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world, much of which is not found in other databases. This online resource provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, full text for more than 890 journals, and contains more than 2.47 million records. Major subject areas include literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and multi-disciplinary humanities titles, with world-wide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Access 275+ journals of philosophy, most in full-text.
L'Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography)
1928-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world: linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, numismatics, more. Contains 23,000+ records under subject search for "Philosophy and the history of ideas".