Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding News Resources: Online Databases
Access World News: United States This link opens in a new window
Full-text content (but not page images) of more than 650 U.S. newspapers, including 116 in California. Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government. Part of a larger database with international coverage. Dates vary, but very little before the late 1980s.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Coverage is mostly 1980s to present, though some as far back as 1960s. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
San Diego Union Tribune This link opens in a new window
1984-present. Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-present
Proquest Current Newspapers
Full text (but not page images) of:
Proquest Historical Newspapers
For full text/page images of: