Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.
Databases marked with a red lock symbol must be accessed from either on the UC San Diego campus network or else via Remote Access.
Put some thought into choosing your search terms and consider synonyms or alternative terms. AND, OR, and NOT can be used to combine or exclude search terms. Check the subject terms listed on your results for additional words to search.
For some topics, you may want to repeat your search in additional databases.
Most databases have a help link in the upper right-hand corner. The help screens will usually explain how to enter in keywords for the best search results.
Take advantage of additional database features such as citation formatting and limiting to academic journals.
Article Databases & Indexes
L'Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography) This link opens in a new window
1969-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. (Print edition of the most recent 10 years available in SSHL reference, call number PA3001 .A613.)
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2009. For more recent publications (2008- ), use the International Bibliography of Art.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995. Formerly known as the Medieval Feminist Index.
Gnomon Online This link opens in a new window
Excellent bibliographic database for Classical Studies.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. Citations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas This link opens in a new window
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic focus is the Aegean; the chronological range is the prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period.
If you have a citation for an article, use this tool to find the article online.