Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beazley Archive: Dictionary
The Dictionary contains illustrated explanations of names, technical terms, and other vocabulary relating to Greek history, myth, geography, art and architecture.
Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples
A dictionary, with examples, of 45 classical rhetorical/literary terms, from Alliteration to Zeugma.
Perseus Project: Text Tools and Lexica
A collection of Greek and Latin dictionaries, including LSJ and Lewis & Short, and other morphological and lexical searching tools.
Silva Rhetoricae: The Forest of Rhetoric
A guide to terms of Classical and Renaissance rhetoric.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
The largest dictionary of the Latin language, encompassing the use of Latin from its origin to the 7th century A.D.
This is an encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 6000 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Its 150 entries bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, communications and performance studies in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. (Print copy available for checkout; call number PN172 .E52 2001.)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Perseus Project: Perseus Encyclopedia
Mainly brief definitions for Greek and Latin terms.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The online, expanded and updated version of the 1998 print edition. Contains subject guides, links to new articles and updates, and full text search capability.
Theoi Greek Mythology
A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art and providing a comprehensive reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek myth.
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
Peer-reviewed, open access resource of survey articles on all aspects of Egyptology. In progress.