Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
British History Sources, 1500-1900
Brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates. (Availability limited to select resources; click "more search options" then "access", and uncheck the "subscription" box.)
Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945
This collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but it also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles and editions published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. Search by keywords or browse individual books.
A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007.
Making of the Modern World
Online primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world. Full-text searching across 12 million pages of works published 1450-1914. Great starting place for primary source material from this period.
Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949
This publication comprises two collections related to Holocaust Era Assets. The first includes Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S. Zone(Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949. The second comprises Records Regarding Intelligence and Financial Investigations, 1945-1949, from the Records of the Financial Intelligence Group, Office of the Finance Adviser.
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Collection of "primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II." Topics covered include the administration of refugee camps across Europe including England, Germany, Italy, Hungary and Yugoslavia; displaced Persons Assembly Centre reports; Jewish Relief Unit field reports; British Military Government in Germany; Belsen DP Camp; Maclean Mission in Italy; Politics of the Refugee Crisis; and, strengthening of the Zionist cause.
Testaments to the Holocaust
Personal accounts, interviews, letters, photographs; also biographical files and Nazi documents and propaganda texts, including textbooks, songbooks, Antisemitic tracts, etc. About 25% in English.
Texts and Texts Collections (WESSWeb)
Links to several collections of online texts.
Indexes & Reference Sources
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations (primarily to English language works) divided into forty-eight sections; citations refer chiefly to works published between 1961 and 1992. (Print edition available at Geisel Research Assistance Desk, call number D20 .A55 1995.)
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
A crucial bibliographical megasite for information about books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives from the Nineteenth Century, particularly from Britain and North America.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Covers the range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment, including all of Europe as well as English-speaking North America.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact info for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
Europe 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
From the beginning of the print revolution to the French Revolution. Covers the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare.
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
From the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Covers the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare.
Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
From the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present: entries that focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past (including former colonies) from 4th century BC to 2000. Also includes Archive of original Dictionary of National Biography and supplements (1885-1970).
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Covers the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
Reference Sources in History
A guide to sources for research in all areas of history, print and online. Revision of 1990 edition of the same name, including sources published through 2003.