Skip to Main Content
The Library

ETHN 100A: Theories and Methods in Ethnic Studies/100B: Methods for Interdisciplinary Research: Special Collections & Archives Visit

Using Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives (SC&A) materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. You will use the materials in our reading room on the main floor of the Geisel Library Building.

Register online to use Special Collections & Archives: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon. Once registered, you can place requests online directly from the catalog and finding aids, or log in to your account to queue requests for a future visit and to view previous requests.

All SC&A materials are cataloged in Roger and finding aids for manuscript collections are available on our website, along with our policies and more information about our collections: https://library.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/

Search or Browse our Finding Aids on the SC&A Website: Remember the nature of the folder titles you saw during class when you're picking search terms. When searching across the finding aids, you will be searching the words used in these folder titles, along with the series titles, abstract, biography, and general scope and content information that we put in those finding aids. If you are searching for an individual's name, or specific event, for example, you are likely to have better luck than searching for a thematic topic using the language you would use in conversation or classes. BE FLEXIBLE! Try multiple terms -- even those that may make you uncomfortable because they may be out of date now.

For tips on searching Roger, consult the page "How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials."

  • If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive in Special Collections to use them.
  • If the items are located offsite (it will say so in Roger or the Finding Aid) delivery times will be up to one week. We'll send an email when they are ready to use.

In addition to registering you will also need to show your photo ID when you visit Special Collections.

Hours:  M-F, 9-5 with extended hours until 7 on Wednesdays

Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu

Items Discussed During Visit to SC&A on 2/14/18

Thurgood Marshall College Provost Provost Records, 1965-2000. RSS 1130.

The finding aid - or inventory - of this collection is available online. Boxes 8, 31, and 52 were on the tables during the class visit to the library. Some items from this collection have been digitized. You can link to those digital items through the finding aid, or search the Digital Collections site directly. To use physical materials, please submit your requests via the finding aid in advance of coming in to the library.

  • Box 8, Folders 2-3, Baake Case, 1977. Correspondence, memos, clippings and other materials related to UCSD campus's response to the decision in the Supreme Court case, Bakke v. Regents of the University of California, which deals with the constitutionality of minority admissions programs designed to integrate professional schools, namely, the UC Davis Medical School.
  • Box 31, Folder 6, Racial Document, Third College, 1972. Memo from the Third College faculty and staff responding to an anonymous document that had been circulated making "scurrilous charges about faculty and students of Third College."
  • Box 52, Folder 11, Lumumba-Zapata - Third College Bulletin, 1971. A folder of newsletters/fliers on the topic.

Sherley Anne Williams Papers. MSS 493.

The finding aid - or inventory - of this collection is available online. Boxes 7 and 15 were on the tables during the class visit. This collection has not been digitize. To use physical materials, please submit your requests via the finding aid in advance of coming in to the library.

Jorge Juerta Papers. MSS 142.

The finding aid - or inventory - of this collection is available online. Box 43 was on the tables during the class visit. This collection has not been digitize. To use physical materials, please submit your requests via the finding aid in advance of coming in to the library.

American Friends Service Committee - US/Mexico Border Program Records. MSS 644.

The finding aid - or inventory - of this collection is available online. Boxes 14, 15, and 34 were on the tables during the class visit. This collection has not been digitized. To use physical materials, please submit your requests via the finding aid in advance of coming in to the library.

Digitized Versions of UCSD Archives Materials

Finding Digital Versions of Special Collections & Archives Materials

We have scanned a wealth of materials from the UC San Diego University Archives collections and other Manuscript and Archival Collections, available in the library's Digital Collections

  • The easiest way to start out, is to search the Digital Collections based on your research topic keywords.
  • You may also wish to browse the list of collections we have digitized -- or digitized selections of -- to get an idea of what subjects you might find in your search.
  • We do put links in finding aids when there is digital content available for a collection. So, whether you start by looking at finding aids, or start by searching the Digital Collections, you should find what we have scanned.

Finding Archival Materials at Other LIbraries

UCSD SC&A Doesn't have what I need. Do other libraries nearby?

California

Search the Online Archive of California to locate finding aids of archival collections at other California archival repositories. If they don't have materials digitized, you may be able to visit and/or email them to ask about getting copies.

Search Calisphere to locate digitized materials from other California libraries and archives.

Further afield...

Search the Digital Public Library of America to locate digitized materials from other libraries and archives across the US.

Search Archive Grid to locate physical collections in libraries and archives across the US (primarily).