Skip to main content

COMM 190: Sponsored Content (Fall 2019): APA Citation

library resources to help with annotated bibliography assignment for comm 190 b

Why Cite?

Citing your sources may seem tedious, but it's important to cite because:

  • Citations allow others to find the information you used in your research paper.
  • Citations help establish the credibility of your research.
  • Citations acknowledge the work of other scholars who have made your own research possible.
  • Citations help you avoid plagiarizing!

How to Write A Citation in APA 6th edition

Journal Article (Online)
Bibliography:

Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

In-Text Citation: (Brownlie, 2007)

 

Book (Whole)
Bibliography:

Goodpaster, K. E., Nash, L. L., & de Bettignies, H. (2006). Business ethics: Policies and persons (3rd ed.). Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill/Irwin.

In-Text Citation: (Goodpaster, Nash, & de Bettignies, 2006)

 

Book (Chapter)
Bibliography:

O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.

In-Text Citation: (O'Neil & Egan, 1992)

 

Film
Bibliography:

Smith, J. D. (Producer), & Smithee, A. F. (Director). (2001). Really big disaster movie [Motion picture]. United States: Paramount Pictures.

In-Text Citation: (Smith & Smithee, 2001)

 

Painting (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Goya, Francisco. (1800). The family of Charles IV [Oil on canvas]. Museo del Prado, Madrid. Retrieved from https://www.museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74

In-Text Citation: (Goya, 1800)

 

Audio Recording (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Sheeran, E. (2014). Don’t. On X. [Audio file]. Retrieved from https://play.spotify.com/track/34gCuhDGsG4bRPIf9bb02f

In-Text Citation: (Sheeran, 2014)

APA Style

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social and behavioral sciences.  These resources, revised according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, offer examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, and reference pages:

Tips on Writing

A short guide with helpful steps and questions that guide you in planning your essay.

Writing Help

Citation Help

APA Manual at the Library