LibGuides: Business: Business Communication

Featured Books

Check here for changing selections highlighting new items in our collection. Go to the Business communication feed to get a running list of new items

Everybody Writes: your new and improved go-to guide to creating ridiculously good content, 2nd ed. by Ann. Handley
Call Number: Wiley e-book
ISBN: 1119854318
Publication Date: 2022
A hands-on field guide to consistently creating page-turning content that your audience loves. In the newly revised and updated edition of Everybody Writes, marketer and author Ann Handley improves on her Wall Street Journal bestselling book that's helped hundreds of thousands become better, more confident writers.
Writing on the Job by Martha B. Coven
Call Number: JSTOR e-book
ISBN: 9780691229966
Publication Date: 2022
Workplace Communication: Promoting Workplace Wellbeing and Interpersonal Relationships in Multicultural Contexts by Joanna Crossman
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9780429318948
Publication Date: 2022
Workplace Communication highlights why effective communication is essential to workplace wellbeing. The book provides a comprehensive overview on creating an inclusive workplace and managing workplace diversity; covers the academic literature; contains practical, 'road-tested' activities to promote reader reflection, experiential learning, critical thinking; and examines how we can communicate effectively to an increasingly diverse workforce. Designed for a broad audience of students, academics, practitioners and leaders.
Communicate with Mastery by J. D. Schramm; Kara Levy
Call Number: Proquest e-book
ISBN: 9781119550167
Publication Date: 2020
Projects often fail not because of the vision, but in the articulation of that vision. With the help of this book, you'll learn how to ensure you get the results you desire as a leader and communicator including: Speak with conviction and write with impact Tailor your communication to any goal, setting, or audience. Scale your leadership through effective coaching .
The Work of Communication: elational Perspectives on Working and Organizing in Contemporary Capitalism by Timothy Kuhn; Karen L. Ashcraft; Francois Cooren
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781315680705
Publication Date: 2017
This book poses the questions: "What have work and organization become under contemporary capitalism--and how should organization studies approach them?" It explores the value of transcending longstanding divides between symbolic and material factors in studies of working and organizing.
Confessions of a Public Speaker by Scott Berkun
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9780596801991
Publication Date: 2009
In this hilarious and highly practical book, author and professional speaker Scott Berkun reveals the techniques behind what great communicators do, and shows how anyone can learn to use them well.
The BS dictionary : uncovering the origins and true meanings of business speak by Bob Wiltfong
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9781950496167
Publication Date: 2020
The authors' researched and documented entries include definitions and a full etymology of favorite phrases like back of the envelope, boil the ocean, elephant in the room, and FAQ. This unique book will amuse and nudge business speakers as well as educate those who don't yet speak B.S.
Think on Your Feet: Tips and Tricks to Improve Your Impromptu Communication Skills on the Job by Jen Oleniczak Brown
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9781260457032
Publication Date: 2019
You'll learn how to nurture your personal style for communicating in every professional situation. From effective listening in the office, giving presentations, and leading meetings to negotiating a raise, acing an interview, and more, you'll start communicating with confidence and stop letting the unexpected hold you back.
Strategy & communication for Innovation: integrative perspectives on innovation in the digital economy by Nicole Pfeffermann & Julie Gould, Eds.
Call Number: Springer e-book, 3rd ed.
ISBN: 9783319495408
Publication Date: 2017
This contributed volume presents a state-of-the-art compendium for startups and corporations, focusing on corporate ventures, to facilitate better understanding about strategy and communication from a startup perspective.
Reengineering Corporate Communication: a marketer's perspective offering new concepts, processes, tools, and templates by Uwe Seebacher
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 3031038371
Publication Date: 2022
This book employs insights from modern marketing into the theory and practice of corporate communication, including the main stages and goals, and highlights the key potentials for the field. The book then introduces the maturity model for modern corporate communication and describes which fields of activity must be gone through in order to be able to implement the change management process towards corporate communication excellence efficiently and effectively.

How-to: Handbooks and Guidbooks

How Charts Work: Understand and Explain Data with Confidence by Alan Smith
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9781292342818
Publication Date: 2023
The author is the director of visual and data journalism for the Financial Times, a source well-known for its graphic communication. Charts, graphs and tables are essential devices in business, but all too often they present information poorly. This book will help you feel confident understanding different types of charts, graphs and table and how to read them. You’ll gain skill recognizing the true story behind the data presented and what the information really shows. The content provides background principles and rules of how best to represent information, with the goal for you to be able to design visuals that people engage with, understand and act upon.
The Routledge Handbook of Corporate Social Responsibility Communication by Amy O'Connor (Editor)
Call Number: Routldege e-book
ISBN: 9781003184911
Publication Date: 2022
This handbook is a resource for students, faculty, and researchers who are focused on understanding the role communication plays in the formation and execution of corporate social responsibility (CSR) activities. It examines the issues central to CSR communication including: theoretical underpinnings, form and content of CSR messaging, the boundaries of engagement, and the tensions associated with CSR communication.
The Routledge Handbook of Nonprofit Communication by Gisela Gonçalves (Editor); Evandro Oliveira (Editor)
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781003170563
Publication Date: 2022
This handbook brings together multidisciplinary and internationally diverse contributors to provide an overview of theory, research, and practice in the nonprofit and nongovernmental organization (NGO) communication field. The handbook is essential reading for scholars, educators, and advanced students in nonprofit and NGO communication within public relations and strategic communication, organizational communication, sociology, management, economics, marketing, and political science, as well as a useful reference for leaders and communication professionals in the nonprofit sector.
Circle of the 9 Muses: a storytelling field guide for innovators and meaning makers by David Hutchens
Call Number: Wiley e-book
ISBN: 9781118973967
Publication Date: 2015
The action-based guide to powerful, influential organizational storytelling Circle of the 9 Muses captures the best practices of the world's most influential story consultants and knowledge workers to help you find, tell, and draw value from your organizational stories as impetus for action.
User Guides, Manuals and technical writing: a guide to professional English by Adrian Wallwork
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 9781493906406
Publication Date: 2014
This book is intended for anyone whose job involves writing formal documentation. It is aimed at non-native speakers of English, but should also be of use for native speakers who have no training in technical writing. Technical writing is a skill that you can learn and this book outlines some simple ideas for writing clear documentation that will reflect well on your company, its image and its brand.
Academic Writing: a guide for management students and researchers by Badrinarayan Shankar Pawar; Mathukutty M. Monippally
Call Number: ProQuest e-book
ISBN: 9788132104414
Publication Date: 2010
This book helps students and researchers write better assignments, better dissertations, and better papers for publication.

Browsing Related Materials

UC San Diego library logo

Look up books in the UC Search:

PRO TIP: The items in our UC Library Searchare tagged with subject headings like these. So, when you find a specific item you like, look at the record and click on the subject headings to find 'more like this.'

These are links above in our online catalog include individual titles in the ebook collections mentioned in this guide (Wiley, Springer, etc.), plus others such as JSTOR, Routledge, ScienceDirect, Knovel and many others. If you are ever not sure where to start, first check your subject in the catalog. Our complete guide on ebooks in our collections provides in-depth background, too.

Careers

International Association of Business Communicators
The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) is a vibrant global membership association with thousands of members from around the world.
Toastmasters International
Here you can find public speaking tips for giving sales pitches, introducing a speaker, giving and accepting awards and other helpful topics. There is also a video library as well as leadership articles available.
Vault Business Communication Companies
See a list of top businesses that provide business consulting services, investment management and public accounting.
Business Communications Careers Tab
Located here you can find links to all of UCSD's career pages for business, management, finance and more.

ESL Resources

English for Business Communication by Mable Chan
Call Number: Taylor & Francis e-book
ISBN: 9781351060035
Publication Date: 2020
This textbook provides a comprehensive introduction for students and professionals who are studying English for business or workplace communication and covers both spoken and written English.
Assessing English for Professional Purposes by Ute Knoch; Susy Macqueen
Call Number: Taylor & Francis e-book
ISBN: 9780429340383
Publication Date: 2019
This book provides a state-of-the-art account of the various kinds of language assessments used to determine people's abilities to function linguistically in the workplace.

English 2.0 Podcast: How to Improve English | ESL | Learn English
Express Yourself Smoothly. Have Confidence. Speak English Naturally! Improve your English with this series tips for natural English speaking with guidance from English teachers and successful English students.

Video Resources

Workplace Communication Skills
This video teaches viewers about the importance of good communication in the workplace and how to improve upon these skills. Viewers get guidance for developing their verbal, listening, nonverbal, and written skills.
Public Speaking: Principles of Public Speaking—Delivery
This video provides an overview of the importance and techniques of speech delivery. Learn about the effects possible through nonverbal cues and spatial communication.
The Art of Effective Communications
Cultivate stronger communication skills with this engaging lecture that covers three burning communication needs in an organization and introduces you to six critically important lessons every effective communicator should follow.
Cutting edge communication comedy series. Resolving conflict by Eve Ash
A great program on essential skills for preventing and resolving conflict with best outcomes.

How to Find More

Here are two places to find more business communications podcasts if these did not seem to be quite the right fit:

Check out this page from Contact Monkey to find more series on internal communications. Also see Player.FM for further business comminications skills series!

Podcast Resources

Time to Shine Podcast
Over a hundred episodes on content to help with public speaking, communication skills and storytelling.
Change Your Mindset
This podcast is all about believing that strong communication skills are the best way in delivering your technical accounting knowledge and growing your business.
The Smart Communications Podcast
This podcast helps busy nonprofit leaders build their communications skills and develop their organization’s voice. It also defines the gap between marketing and communications.

Special Thanks

Thanks to Stephen Hodges, student assistant, who contributed extensively to the creation and contents of this Operations Research page.

Business: Business Communication

Introduction