Skip to main content

Education: Articles & Databases

Finding Articles

The best way to locate articles is to use a database. All databases have the UC-eLinks button for retrieving articles in full text. Use one of the databases listed to get started. If you need further assistance contact ask a librarian.

Important! You need VPN access to use the library's resources when working off-campus. Use the Connect from Off-Campus   link to download the VPN.

Article Databases

Education Subject Specific Databases

 

Interdisciplinary Database

 

Databases in Related Subject Areas and Other Article Resources

See also the Subject A-Z Guide list for article database recommendations by subject.

Retrieving the Full Text of an Article

If an article is not readily available to you as a PDF or  html  link within the results, click the UC-eLinks button. It will provide you with  Get  It Online links that will take you to the article you need. If no online links appear, use the Request It link for interlibrary loan access at no charge.

Searching a Database

Not sure how to use a database? Check out the below example in the Web of Science Database. The strategies presented in this video are transferable to other databases. When searching the literature in the databases an elsewhere, pay attention to the vocabulary that the scholars use to talk about your topic. The topic vocabulary will provide you with the keywords you should also use in your database search.

 

Scholarly vs Popular Magazine Articles

Articles in scholarly journals and popular magazine may be useful to your research. Click on the slideshow for a review review of the differences between the two.