Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reviews of research are essays which summarize what has been published about a given topic in recent years. For research in Archaeology, the best place to begin searching for such articles is in the following publication:
Multi-disciplinary, open access guide to annual reviews
Good Places to Start
Looking for an article in a scholarly journal? These databases are good places to start!
The major discipline-specific database for anthropology and archaeology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Major multidisciplinary database. Powerful and easy to use. 1900-present. Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.
Specific Regions & Cultures
Databases which index articles, etc. on specific regions or ethnicities.
Africa Wide Information This link opens in a new window
19th century-present. Incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles,newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, much more. Nearly 2 million records
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Database indexing journal articles, books and other publications, covering all aspects of native North American culture and history. Includes materials published from 1500s to present.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Index of European-language publications on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Includes journal articles and book chapters published since 1906. Also includes books (1976+), and book reviews (1992+)
A huge collection of online books, articles and dissertations, organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Related Subjects & Multidisciplinary
See more databases by Subjects A-Z or complete list by title Databases A-Z
AATA: Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A service of the Getty Conservation Institute in association with the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Fulltext of journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for biblical archaeology and other sites in the Middle East.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases This link opens in a new window
International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geology and related subjects, including archaeology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-1995. Index to 16 million articles from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language. 10 percent of articles listed also include page images from Periodicals Archive Online
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.