Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archaeology: Accessing Full-Text Articles in Databases

Accessing Full Text Articles in Databases

Most databases include some – but not all – articles in Full Text (which means you can open the entire article right in the database).  See the bottom result, which has the Full Text PDF icon circled.  By clicking on this icon, you would open the entire article. 

When the Full Text is not available, you need to click on UC eLinks as in the top result.  This will generate a search in all of the databases UCSD subscribes to, to hopefully find another database with the full-text.

Getting Full Text Articles

 UC-eLinks or Get it at UC

The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:

  • An HTML link
  • PDF link
  • Link to UC-eLinks or Get it at UC

The UC links will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.

Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.