Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See also the Review Sources Research guide, which points to strategies and places to search for Book Reviews; Film Dance and Theater Reviews; and Research Literature (which points to Annual Reviews and Dissertations as well as particular databases).
Why read book reviews?
Book reviews, ranging from simple summaries to in-depth critical analyses and evaluations, provide useful informaiton for readers and researchers. Read book reviews to:
- Find out what others have said about a book
- Identify controversies about the book
- Find out how the book relates to other works
- Find out what's new in your field of interest
- Easily identify recommended books for future reading
- Easily identify books that aren't recommended :-)
Article Databases That Include Book Reviews
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search by the author or title of the book, and limit "document type" to "Book Review"
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search by title of the book. From results, refine by document type, "review"
Book Review Digest database
Book Review Digest Plus
Indexes and provides links to book reviews appearing in a wide variety of scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Some scholarly journals which regularly publish book & film reviews