Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alert: VPN issues. The Group Setting when signing in to the CISCO Anyconnect VPN must be set to 2-Step Secured allthruucsd. If you have trouble accessing resources, sign out of the VPN. Login again, check that setting, and try your resource again. More detail on our guide. Make sure to also allow cookies and try another browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari). Need help? Ask us.
Wireless & Off-Campus Access
Off-campus and on-campus/wifi access to most of the databases, ebooks, and journals licensed by the Library is restricted to UC San Diego students, faculty and staff.
VPN AnyConnect Client - Off-Campus Access
Follow the download and installation instructions for your operating system. IMPORTANT: when connecting, make sure to select 2 Step Secured - althruucsd for the group setting. Duo Two-Step Login required.
UCSD-PROTECTED Wireless Network
Use the UCSD-PROTECTED wifi network to access UCSD-licensed resources on your laptop, tablet, or smartphone anywhere on campus.
Main Article Databases
Find journal articles on your topic. In some databases you'll find conference papers as well.
Use Get it at UC to locate the full text of articles, if the Library licenses it. Or find the print copy in the Library collections.
Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles & conference papers in astronomy & astrophysics. Choose Physics to search physics & geophysics.
arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new window
Preprints for physics, astronomy, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
1898-present. Major index of articles in physics, astronomy, computers & control, electronics & electrical engineering, mechanics & acoustics. Now indexes arXiv preprints. Also good for conference proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles across many areas of science and social sciences. Good for citation searching.
See July 2021 news
for information about the updated interface and increases in numbers of records in results.
Books, Textbooks and Journals
Find books, textbooks and journals on your topic in the UCSD Libraries' catalog, UC Library Search.
Include "textbook" as a keyword to find textbooks. Use Find Journal to search for journal titles. Use Get it at UC if you have a specific journal article citation. Locate books outside of UCSD to request (fastest if a book is held at another UC) or with Circuit (SD area).
UC Library Search - search all of the UC's library collections
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), government documents and datasets and primary resources, archives, and special collections
San Diego area universities & public libraries. Books requested arrive in 1-5 working days.
Circuit link also appears from a book record when you have personally logged into UC Library Search.
Browse journals by subject group or search for a particular journal.
This replaces the former A-Z e-journals list.
Library News for engineering, math & physical science
Google can give you a start on your research, but using Google Scholar is smarter. You'll search only academic resources, and if you set your Scholar Preferences to "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" you'll be able to use Get it at UC link resolver to get to article PDFs when you're off campus as long as you have VPN switched on with 2-Step Secured - allthruucsd.